The Honor Society of Nursing

Sigma Theta Tau InternationalHonor Society of Nursing, Sigma Theta Tau International
Zeta Xi Chapter

Current Officers

President: Dr. Rachel Wooten
Vice-President: Dr. Stacey Mikel
Secretary: Ms. Claire Morrow
Treasurer: Dr. Danyel Munster
Counselor: Dr. Serena Gramling


Sigma Theta Tau is committed to honoring excellence, scholarship, and leadership in nursing to enhance healthcare globally. It's purposes are to recognize superior achievement in nursing, foster high professional standards, recognize the development of leadership qualities, encourage creative work, and strengthen commitment to the ideals and purposes of the nursing profession.


During the Fall of 1977, several faculty in the College of Health Professions and Wellness discussed and collaborated on ways to bestow honor on Students who exemplify superior achievement in the Nursing Profession, foster high professional standards and demonstrate commitment to the ideals and purposes of the profession.

There was a consensus among faculty, that a local honor society should be established. They agreed that a Charter in Sigma Theta Tau International Nursing Honor Society should be pursued.

Gail Bennett Camp, coordinator of the Honor Society Committee contacted the National Sigma Theta Tau office concerning the procedure necessary for creating a chapter. After instructions were obtained from the National office, approval was requested from the University Administration. On July 15, 1978 a steering committee was formed.

The steering committee on September 18, 1978 met to draft By-laws and establish committees to review records of perspective candidates and plan an induction ceremony. Seventy-two (72) perspective members were approved for membership. Letters of invitation were sent to each candidate, and 53 candidates were inducted into the honor society.

On April 18, 1979 the first induction ceremony was held and the Acting Dean of the College of Health Professions and Wellness, Roberta O. Watts presented each member with a certificate of membership through a formal ceremony. A reception was held after the ceremony in honor of the new members.

Membership meetings were held on a regular basis according to criteria By-laws and refining the application process for charter membership was a central focus. Leaders in health care presented topics that were visionary, innovative and integral to how health care would impact Nursing's future. Topics discussed were "Trends in Nursing", "Nursing Leadership", and "Being a Life Long Learner".

On November 6, 1981 the House of Delegates voted to grant a Charter to Jacksonville State University College of Health Professions and Wellness and the Zeta Xi Chapter was established.

Honor Society of Nursing, Sigma Theta Tau International