Jail Management Course/DeKalb County
The Northeast Alabama Law Enforcement Academy is presenting a two week (80-hour) Jail Management Course. The courses will begin at 7:00 a.m. (four 10 hour days) at the DeKalb County Sheriff's Office. Tuition for the course includes all notebooks, handouts, and materials. This course is designed for both municipal and county jail personnel.
With the growing number of lawsuits being filed against jails, jail personnel and jail administrators, no agency that maintains a jail can afford not to send their jail personnel to this course. The curriculum for the Jail Management Course has been approved and adopted by the Alabama Peace Officers Standards and Training Commission.
A sampling of the subjects that will be included in this course include:
- History of Jails
- Ethics, Loyalty and Morale
- Special Needs Inmates
- Basic Jail Security
- Supervision of Inmates
- Legal Rights and Standards
- First Aid, CPR, and Medical Problems of Inmates
- Contraband Control
- Booking, Classifying and Releasing Inmates
- Escape Awareness and Detection
- Transportation and Restraints
- Chemical Aerosol Training
- Hostage Awareness
- Discipline and Grievance Procedures
- Search and Shakedown Procedures
- Suicide Prevention
- Fire Safety
- Working Inmate Considerations
- Jail Officer Safety
- Jail Emergencies. . . and many other subjects
To successfully complete this course the student will have to score a minimum of 70% on a standard First Aid/CPR exam and two General Exams. Also, a student cannot be absent for more that 5% (4 hours) of instruction. Each student will also be required to participate fully in Chemical Aerosol training which includes a direct exposure to an OC product. Any student who attends the course, but who fails to successfully complete the requirements, will be given a certificate of attendance instead of a certificate of completion.
DeKalb County Sheriff's Office, 2801 Jordan Road SW, Fort Payne, AL 35968
This cost of this course is $225.00.
We must have your registration form to guarantee your seat in the course. Registration deadline is 1 week prior to course date. If for some reason, you are unable to attend the course we must be informed of your cancellation by fax, e-mail, or letter. This must be done by the last business day before the class starts. Otherwise you will be invoiced half of the course tuition fee.
For more information e-mail us or call (256) 782-5318.Registration Form Cancellation Form