Faculty & Staff

Faculty Resources
Dr. Renée L. Baptiste

Dr. Renée L. Baptiste | MH 202

Department Head
(256) 782-5873 | baptiste@jsu.edu 

Professor

Dr. Wendy Freeland

Dr. Wendy Freeland | MH 205

Piano
(256) 782-8258 | wfreeland@jsu.edu 

Dr. Doug Gordon

Dr. Doug Gordon | MH 244

Music Theory
(256) 782-5578 | dgordon@jsu.edu 

Dr. Nathan Wight

Dr. Nathan Wight | MH 260

Director of Operatic Activities
(256) 782-5559 | nwight@jsu.edu 

Associate Professor

Dr. Jeremy Benson

Dr. Jeremy Benson | MH 101

Flute | Orchestral Studies
(256) 782-5062 | jlbenson@jsu.edu

Dr. Kenneth Bodiford

Dr. Kenneth Bodiford | MH 312

Director of Bands
(256) 782-5175 | kenbodiford@jsu.edu

Dr. Tony Logsdon

Dr. Tony Logsdon | MH 206

Saxophone | Music Education
(256) 782-5877 | jlogsdon@jsu.edu

Dr. Andy Nevala

Dr. Andy Nevala | MH 107

Director of Jazz Studies | Piano
(256) 782-5883 | anevala@jsu.edu

Dr. Chris Probst

Dr. Chris Probst | MH 103

Trumpet | Class Brass | Trumpet Ensemble
High Brass Academic Advisor
(256) 782-5044 | cprobst@jsu.edu

Dr. James Woodward

Dr. James Woodward | MH 249

Music Theory | Aural Skills | Composition
(256) 782-8235 | jwoodward@jsu.edu

Dr. Eliezer Yanson Jr.

Dr. Eliezer Yanson Jr. | MH 201

Director of Choral Activities
(256) 782-5544 | eyanson@jsu.edu

Assistant Professor

Dr. Shellie Beeman

Dr. Shellie Beeman | MH

Voice
(256) 782-5559  | sbeeman@jsu.edu

Dr. Matthew Jordan

Dr. Matthew Jordan | MH 301

Percussion | Class Percussion | Percussion Ensemble
Percussion Academic Advisor
(615) 397-5785 | mgjordan@jsu.edu

Rachel Park

Dr. Rachel Park | MH 204

Piano | Accompanying
(256) 782-5049 | kpark@jsu.edu

Dr. Jeremy Stovall

Dr. Jeremy Stovall | MH 302

Assistant Director of Bands
(256) 782-5061 | jstovall@jsu.edu

Dr. Casey Thomas

Dr. Casey Thomas | MH 104

Trombone | Sackbut
Low Brass Academic Advisor
(256) 782-5858 | cwthomas@jsu.edu

Instructor

Mark Brandon

Mark Brandon | MH 207

Clarinet
(256) 782-5048 | mbrandon@jsu.edu 

Blair Callaway

Blair Callaway | MH 208

Music Education
(phone) | bcallaway@jsu.edu 

Clint Gillespie

Clint Gillespie | MH 307

Associate Director of Bands | Percussion
(256) 782-5630 | cgillesp@jsu.edu 

Christopher D. Hosmer

Christopher D. Hosmer | MH 106

Distinguished Instructor of Tuba & Euphonium 
Technology of Music | Introduction to Music
Music Department Webmaster
(256) 782-5063 | chosmer@jsu.edu 

Eryn Oft

Eryn Oft | MH 255

Double Reeds | Music History
Advanced Introduction to Music
(256) 782-5046 | eoft@jsu.edu 

Adjunct

Jason Casanova

Jason Casanova

Euphonium | Tuba
(256) 782-5559 | jcasanova@jsu.edu  

Jean Ellison

Jean Ellison

ENCORE! (Show Choir) | Vocal
(256) 782-5559 | jtellison@jsu.edu

Chris Enghauser

Chris Enghauser | MH 181

Bass | Combos
(256) 782-5559 | cenghauser@jsu.edu 

Lisa Gillespie, Elementary Music Materials and Methods

Lisa Gillespie 

Elementary Music Materials and Methods
(256) 782-5559 | lgillespie@jsu.edu

Dr. Thomas McCutchen

Dr. Thomas McCutchen 

Steel Band | Distinguished Professor
tmccutchen@jsu.edu

Male Placeholder

Cory O'Neal

Gospel Choir
(256) 782-5559 | csoneal@jsu.edu

female placeholder

Pam Smith

Supervising Internships (Instrumental)
(256) 782-5559 | psmith474@bellsouth.net 

Jeffrey Solomon

Jeffrey Solomon | MH 105

Horn
(256) 782-5559 | jsolomon@jsu.edu

Ben Weatherford

Ben Weatherford | MH 181

Guitar | Improvisation | Combos
(256) 782-5559 | bweatherford@jsu.edu 

Luke Weathington

Luke Weathington 

Saxophone
(256) 782-5559 | lweathington@jsu.edu 

Male Placeholder

C. Brad Whitfield 

Trumpet
(256) 782-5559 | cbwhitfield@jsu.edu

Eric Wilcox

Eric Wilcox

Voice | Class Voice 
(256) 782-5559 | ewilcox@jsu.edu 

Estefania Cuevas Wilcox

Estefania Cuevas Wilcox | MH 257

Introduction to Music | JSU Music Academy
(256) 782-5559 | ecwilcox@jsu.edu 

female placeholder

Alison Woodward

Choreography
(256) 782-5559 | awoodward@jsu.edu 

Staff

Kimberly Cooper

Kimberly Cooper | MH 254

Department Secretary
(256) 782-5551 | krcooper@jsu.edu

female placeholder

Sandra Duval

University Bands Secretary
(256) 782-5562 | slynch@jsu.edu

Emeriti Faculty (Retired)

Carl Anderson, Emeritus Clarinet

Carl Anderson

Clarinet

Dr. Richard Armstrong, Emeritus Voice

Dr. Richard Armstrong

Voice

Dr. Myrtice Collins

Dr. Myrtice Collins

Gospel Choir

Dr. Susie Francis Dempsey

Dr. Susie Francis Dempsey

Piano

Dr. Jim Fairleigh, Emeritus Department Head

Dr. Jim Fairleigh 

Department Head

Dr. James E. Roberts, Emeritus Trombone

Dr. James E. Roberts

Trombone

Dr. Dave Walters, Emeritus Director of University Bands

Dr. Dave Walters

Director of University Bands