JSU Honors Scholarships

Most incoming freshmen also qualify for a variety of scholarships, including the prestigious JSU Honors Scholarship.

To qualify for the JSU Honors Scholarship, students must be an entering freshman, unconditionally accepted to JSU, and a U.S. citizen. Official test scores must be on file at JSU prior to the scholarship deadline.

Applicants for the JSU Honors Scholarship must have an ACT of at least 30 and a high school cumulative 3.75 GPA through the 11th grade. JSU Honors Scholarship candidates will be contacted and required to submit an essay and resume.

For a complete JSU scholarship listing, consult the scholarship guide or call the Scholarship Office at 256-782-5677.

Scholarship Opportunities

Marshall Scholarship Application

To be eligible for a 2020 Marshall Scholarship, candidates must:
• be citizens of the United States of America (at the time they apply for a scholarship);
• (by the time they take up their scholarship ie September 2020) hold their first undergraduate degree from an accredited four-year college or university in the United States;
• have obtained a grade point average of not less than 3.7 on their undergraduate degree. (Applicants must have a GPA of 3.7 at the time of application). We do not accept rounded GPA's.
• have graduated from their first undergraduate college or university after April 2017.
• not have studied for, or hold a degree or degree-equivalent qualification from a British University or GCSE or A Levels taken at school in the UK.

Before completing the application candidates are advised to consider the objectives of the Marshall Scholarship Programme (see opening paragraph of the Rules for Candidates) and to be aware that the selection committees are seeking candidates who have the potential to excel as scholars, leaders and as contributors to improved UK-US understanding. Our selection criteria can be found here.

The Marshall Aid Commemoration Commission promotes an equal opportunities policy. Scholarship awards are based on merit following a fair and transparent selection process. The Marshall Commission seeks and recruits students from all backgrounds.

seniors_2013Elite Honors Scholars 2010-11

  1. Gregory Felch (Huntsville, AL)
  2. Whitney Gaut (Wilsonville, AL)
  3. Brian Hinkemeyer (Newnan, GA)
  4. Terry Hinkemeyer (Newnan, GA)
  5. Evan Mince (Ft. Payne, AL)
  6. Emilee Smith (Jacksonville, AL)

seniors_2014Elite Honors Scholars 2011-12

  1. Micah Burns (Oxford, AL)
  2. Barbara Edwards (Oxford, AL)
  3. Lea Isbell (Lineville, AL)
  4. Daniel Jackson (Altoona, AL)
  5. Lauren McClendon (Rainbow City, AL)
  6. Emily Smith (Guin, AL)
  7. Noah Trudeau (Gadsden, AL)

juniors_2014Elite Honors Scholars 2012-13

  1. Lora Corbin (Henager, AL)
  2. Alaina Durham (Bryant, AL)
  3. Trent Ford (Winfield, AL)
  4. Katie Loper (Odenville, AL)
  5. Amanda Parker (Oxford, AL)
  6. David Rickless (Anniston, AL)
  7. Katie Wood (Ranburne, AL)

sophomores_2014Elite Honors Scholars 2013-14

  1. Alyssa Cunningham (Arley, AL)
  2. Caelan Goss (Piedmont, AL)
  3. Abigail Jaskowski (Jacksonville, AL)
  4. Storm Johnson (Rainsville, AL)
  5. Dylan Kyser (Dora, AL)
  6. Alex McFry (Anniston, AL)
  7. Wesley Schultz (Harvest, AL)
  8. Erin Whetzel (Harvest, AL)

freshmen_2014Elite Honors Scholars 2014-15

  1. Peter Abney (Tallapoosa, GA)
  2. Katie Cline (Jacksonville, AL)
  3. Kendall Gulledge (Southside, AL)
  4. Bailey Heflin (Oxford, AL)
  5. John Mackey (Pike Road, AL)
  6. Sawyer McKay (Henagar, AL)
  7. Krista McNutt (Pell City, AL)
  8. Jennie Tanner (Trussville, AL)

freshmen_2015Elite Honors Scholars 2015-16

  1. Ashley Adamson (Haleyville, AL)
  2. Sarah Dickey (Hoover, AL)
  3. Maxwell Erb (Winfield, AL)
  4. Ja'Nasia Fort (Muscle Shoals, AL)
  5. Jordan Lucas (Sylacauga, AL)
  6. Daniel Mayes (Groveoak, AL)
  7. Julia McCormick (Bowdon, GA)
  8. Katie Peyton (Cullman, AL)

freshmen_2016Elite Honors Scholars 2016-17

  1. Dallen Atchley (Bryant, AL)
  2. Jenna Bennett (Pelham, AL)
  3. Caleb Chambers (Cullman, AL)
  4. Kaleigh Ferguson (Auburn, AL)
  5. Laci Gurganus (Parrish, AL)
  6. Micheal Myrick (Bremen, AL)
  7. Jessica Ray (Pinson, AL)
  8. Amber Smith (Bremen, GA)

Elite Honors Scholars 2017-182017-2018 Elite Honors Scholars

  1. Chase Alldredge (Munford, AL)
  2. Mariana Alvarez (Southside, AL)
  3. Tanner Atchley (Bryant, AL)
  4. McKenzie Chunn (Jacksons Gap, AL)
  5. Kate Fleming (Arab, AL)
  6. Christian King (Jacksonville, AL)
  7. Abby McDow (Eastaboga, AL)
  8. Lauren Usrey (Alexandria, AL)

Elite Honors Scholars 2018-192018-2019 Elite Honors Scholars

  1. Isaac Graham (Clanton, AL)
  2. Catherine Jenkins (Fyffe, AL)
  3. Mason Myrick (Jasper, AL)
  4. Austin Phillips (Greenville, AL)
  5. Kaylee Rawlins (Alexandria, AL)
  6. Austin Smith (Bremen, GA)
  7. Katie Smith (Glencoe, AL)
  8. Hollie Thweatt (Pell City, AL)

group_2016Honors Program Application

Honors Program Application