Outstanding Teacher Award

The Betty and Earlon McWhorter Outstanding Teacher Award, established in 1993, is a faculty administered program designed to honor an outstanding faculty member in their efforts in teaching. The person selected for this honor will receive an honorarium of $1,500, a budget of $500 for expenses, and a framed certificate that recognizes this accomplishment. All full-time faculty members are eligible. Nominations by self, students, colleagues, or department heads are encouraged. Only teaching accomplishments during the previous calendar year will be considered for this award.

If you would like to nominate someone, please complete the online Faculty Awards Nomination Form.

2021 Audria White

Audria White

Instructor of Mathematics

2020 Ken Bodiford

Dr. Kenneth Bodiford

Director of Bands and Assistant Professor of Music

2019 Mary Springer

Dr. Makenzie Bayles

Assistant Professor of Psychology

2018 jennifer foster

Jennifer Foster

Instructor of English

2017 paul beezley

Dr. Paul Beezley

Associate Professor of History

2016 rodney bailey

Rodney Bailey

Instructor of English

2015 james rayburn

Dr. James Rayburn

Associate Professor of Biology

2014 david dempsey

Dr. David Dempsey

Associate Professor of Mathematics

2013 j kim

Dr. Jaedeok Kim

Professor of Mathematics

2012 gena christopher

Gena Christopher

Instructor of English

2011 nouredine

Dr. Nouredine Zettili

Professor of Physics

2010 linda cain

Linda Cain

Associate Professor of Library Services

2009 glaucio

Dr. Glaucio Scremin

Assistant Professor of Health, Physical Education and Recreation