Dr. George Mehaffy Excellence in Learning Technology Award

The Dr. George Mehaffy Excellence in Learning Technology Award, established in 2014, is a faculty administered program designed to honor an outstanding faculty member who has contributed significantly to the enhancement of teaching and learning at Jacksonville State University through the sustained and innovative use of technology. The person selected for this honor will receive an honorarium of $500, a budget of $500 for expenses and a framed certificate that recognizes this accomplishment. All full-time faculty members are eligible. Nominators for this award should provide evidence that the candidate has significantly enhanced student learning through the use of technology; both employed and advanced good practices in the use of instructional technologies; demonstrated ongoing commitment to application and improvement of these practices across multiple semesters and courses; and taken on relevant leadership in his or her department, campus, and/or discipline. Outstanding candidates will have a record of scholarly activities that document this leadership within and/or beyond their academic disciplines.

Nominations by self, students, colleagues, or department heads are encouraged. Use of instructional technologies to improve student learning, motivation, and creativity, with their work and scholarship during the previous calendar year will be considered for this award.


2022 Tanya Sasser

Tanya Sasser

Instructor of English

2021 Aimee Weathers

Aimee Weathers

Instructor of Curriculum and Instruction

2020 Ahmad Alhammouri

Dr. Ahmad Alhammouri

Assistant Professor of Secondary Education

2019 Mary Springer

Dr. Mary Springer

Assistant Professor of Art History

2018 jodi poe

Jodi Poe

Professor of Library Services

2017 jennifer foster 1

Jennifer Foster

Instructor of English

2016 jan case

Dr. Jan Case

Professor of Mathematics

2015 rodney bailey

Rodney Bailey

Instructor of English

2014 david thornton

Dr. David Thornton

Assistant Professor of Computer Science