William A. Meehan Legacy Award

The William A. Meehan Legacy Award, established in 2015 and administered by the Council of Deans, is a program designed to honor a faculty member who has significantly advanced the mission of Jacksonville  State University (JSU) through an outstanding, career-long contribution in one or more of the following areas: teaching, professional effectiveness, research, or service. The individual selected for this honor will receive an honorarium of $1,000 and a framed certificate that recognizes this accomplishment. All full-time faculty members with 25 years or more of service at JSU are eligible. Nominators for this award should provide evidence that the candidate has had a profound, positive, and sustained influence on the direction and progress of JSU as demonstrated through an extraordinary commitment to teaching, professional effectiveness, research, and/or service.

Nominations are to be submitted to the Council of Deans via the Office of the Provost/VPAA by February 25, 2022. Please direct any questions to the Provost at cshelton@jsu.edu.

If you would like to nominate someone, please submit:
•    Letter of recommendation describing the nominee’s accomplishments in advancing the mission of JSU
•    Nominee’s updated résumé or vita

2021 Mary Bevins

Mary Bevis

2020 William Fielding

Dr. William Fielding

Dean of Business and Industry

2019 Freddie Clements

Freddie Clements

Professor of Drama & Costume Designer

2018 gena christopher

Gena Christopher

Director of Faculty Commons &

Instructor of English

2017 becky turner

Dr. Rebecca Turner

Provost and Vice-President of Academic Affairs

2016 steven whitton

Dr. Steven Whitton

Professor of English

2015 William Meehan

Dr. William A. Meehan

President of Jacksonville State University