Faculty Scholar Lecturer Award

Award Description

The Faculty Scholar Lecturer Award, established in 1998, is a faculty-administered award sponsored by the Provost and Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs. It is designed to honor an outstanding faculty member for research that resulted in publication in a refereed journal, a book, a juried show, an invited performance, or other research work in their field. The person selected for this honor will receive an honorarium of $500 and a budget of $500 for expenses, and a framed certificate that recognizes this accomplishment. The person selected will deliver a lecture or an appropriate presentation to the University community through Faculty Commons via the Faculty Research Symposium.

Criteria and Eligibility

  • Full-time tenure-track faculty
  • High-quality, high-impact scholarly or creative research with meaningful impact on faculty member’s field of study 

Nomination Procedures

A selection committee composed of faculty will review nomination packets. Nominations by students, colleagues, department heads and deans are encouraged. Only accomplishments during the previous academic year including Fall 2022, Spring 2023, and Summer 2023 will be considered for this award.  Nominators should inform nominees that they are being nominated and may solicit their assistance in preparing nomination materials.   

Required Nomination Documents

The nomination packet for this award will consist of the following, compiled into one single PDF file in the order indicated. *Please contact Faculty Commons if you need assistance compiling documentation into a PDF file. 

  1. One official Letter of Nomination by the nominator(s) advocating the basis for the nomination (relating nominee’s research/creative activity to the criteria for the award)
  2. Up to three additional Letters of Support from internal or external colleagues to complement the Letter of Nomination—*No more than three additional Letters of Support will be considered.
  3. Nominee’s curriculum vitae (abbreviated and concise, no more than five pages)—*Contact the nominee’s departmental Administrative Assistant to acquire a CV.
  4. Supporting documentation may include copies of recent peer-reviewed journal publications, books, exhibits, recordings, journal proceedings, performances, conference papers/presentations, patents, or software. *Only supporting documentation from the previous year will be considered.

Nomination Deadline

All nominations must be submitted electronically via the Faculty Awards nomination form, linked below, no later than 4:30 PM CST on Friday, February 16, 2024.  

2023 President Killingsworth, Mark Sciuchetti, and Provost Shelton

Dr. Mark Sciuchetti

Associate Professor of Geography

2022 Faculty Scholar

Dr. Yuliya Minets

Assistant Professor of History & Foreign Languages

2021 Eric Gamess

Dr. Eric Gamess

Associate Professor of Computer Science

2020 Ellen Peck

Dr. Ellen Peck

Associate Professor of Theatre and Film

2019 Mary Springer

Dr. Jeremy Benson

Associate Professor of Music

2018 reginald overton

Dr. Reginald Overton

Professor of Kinesiology

2017 jeff dodd

Dr. Jeff Dodd

Professor of Mathematics

2016 safaa al-hamdani

Dr. Safaa Al-Hamdani

Professor of Biology

2015 carmine dibiase

Dr. Carmine DiBiase

Professor of English

2014 sonny francia

Dr. Guillermo Francia

Professor of Computer Science and CISA Director

2013 jimmy triplett

Dr. Jimmy Triplett

Assistant Professor of Biology

2012 chris murdock

Dr. Christopher Murdock

Assistant Professor of Biology

2011 john jones

Dr. John Jones

Professor of English

2010 nagarajan vasumathi

Dr. Nagarajan Vasumathi

Assistant Professor of Physical and Earth Sciences