Content Top Nav Left Nav Utility Nav Site Search
Mobile Menu

Student Life

More Links

Professional Department Clubs

A Capella Choir
To present the best in choral music at the collegiate level.
Advisor: Patricia Corbin, Music Department, 256-782-5544
Email: pcorbin@jsu.edu

Alpha Kappa Psi
The mission of the Psi Chi Chapter of Alpha Kappa Psi is to produce a legacy of leaders that will flourish in morality, education and professionalism.
Advisor: Lola Johnston, Career Services, 256-782-5092
Email: lmjohnston@jsu.edu

Alpha Omicron Omega
To enhance the education of students in the College of Education and Professional Studies.
Advisor: Emily Sims, Secondary Education, 256-782-5853
Email: esims@jsu.edu

Alpha Phi Sigma (C. J. Honor Society)
To recognize and promote academic excellence among students engaged in collegiate preparation for professional service in the field of criminal justice.
Advisor: H. Dean Buttram, Criminal Justice, 256-782-8179
Email: dbuttram@jsu.edu

Alpha Sigma Omega
To improve criminal justice through educational activities.
Advisor: Randal Wood, Criminal Justice, 256-782-5340
Email: rwood@jsu.edu 

American Chemical Society 
To advance the interest in chemistry through education and research.
Advisor: Al Nichols, Physical and Earth Science, 256-782-8150
Email: anichols@jsu.edu

American Institute of Graphic Arts (AIGA)
To get the students involved in the local design community, create a community of their own and help them build leadership and design skills that will be valuable as they move into the professional world.
Advisor: Christian Dunn, Art Department, 256-782-5622
Email: cdunn6@jsu.edu

Child Development
To provide professional development and social interaction for students seeking a career working with young children.
Advisor: Jill Marsh, Family and Consumer Science, 256-782-5869
Email: jfmarsh@jsu.edu

Chi Sigma Iota International Honor Society-Chi Theta Chapter
The mission of Chi Theta is to promote counselor education student involvement in professional scholarship and service to the community.
Advisor: Jerry Kiser, Educ ational Resources, 256-782-855
Email: jkiser@jsu.edu

Delta Sigma Pi
Professional business fraternity organized to foster the study of business in universities and to encourage scholarship, social activity and to promote close affiliation between the commercial world.
Advisor: John Sneed, Finance Economics Accounting, 256-782-5772
Email: jsneed@jsu.edu

Family and Consumer Sciences Club (FSC)
To improve the lives of families, individuals and communities through community projects, fundraising and annual conventions.
Advisor: Robbie Boggs, Family and Consumer Sciences, 256-782-5056
Email: rboggs@jsu.edu

Financial Management Association
To promote professional leadership opportunities in finance for studnts across business disciplines.
Advisor: Benjamin Boozer, Finance, Economic, Accounting, 256-782-5775
Email: bboozer@jsu.edu 

Geography Club
To further interest in and visibility of geography at JSU and in the surrounding region.
Advisor: Stephen Tsikalas, Physical and Earth Sciences, 256-782-5811
Email: stsikalas@jsu.edu

JSU Robotics Team Fosters the improvement of industrial technology with colleges, universities, businesses and indusry.
Advisor: Phillip Dean, Applied Engineering, 256-782-5839
Email: pdean@jsu.edu

JSU Intramural Association    
To introduce students to possible career opportunities in recreational sports.
advisor: Hunter Allen, University Recreation, 256-782-5073
Email: jallen@jsu.edu

Kappa Kappa Psi
To provide service to the college and university bands
Advisor: Jeremy Stovall, Music, 256-782-5061
Email: jstovall@jsu.edu

Kappa Mu Epsilon, Mathematics Honor Society
To promote the interest of mathematics among undergraduate students and to recognize students who have attained academic distinction in mathematics.
Advisor: David Dempsey, MCIS, 256-782-5124
Email: ddempsey@jsu.edu        

Kappa Pi Iota Alpha   
To assist the art department with exhibitions and other functions, raise money for art scholarships, museum trips, raise awareness of the arts in the community and assist with art programs at local elementary and high schools.          
Advisor: Jauneth Skinner, Art Department, 256-782-5626
Email: jauneths@jsu.edu                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                          

Lambda Alpha Epsilon (Alpha Sigma Omega)
The goal of the organization is to represent JSU and the Criminal Justice department in regional and national competitions as well as help the community.
Advisor: Brian Patton, Criminal Justice, 256-782-8126
Email: bepatton@jsu.edu


Pre-Law Society
To educate and inform students interested in pursuing a profession in law.
Advisor: Lori Owens, Political Science, 256-782-5106
Email: ljowens@jsu.edu

Psychology Club
To help students interested in psychology learn more about it, attend psychology conferences, and find careers in psychology-related fields.
Advisor: Heidi Dempsey, Psychology and Philosophy Department, 256-782-5895
Email: hdempsey@jsu.edu

Public Relations Student Society of America
The Public Relations Organization is to provide an atmosphere of growth and development as young public relations professionals. We will thrive morally, educationally, and historically.
Advisor: Augustine Ihator, Communication Department, 256-782-8205
Email: aihator@jsu.edu 

Sigma Alpha Iota
To enhance and uphold the highest standards of music for college women and alumnae who share an interest in music.
Advisor: Allison McInnis, Music, 256-782-6112
Email: amcinnis@jsu.edu 

Sigma Tau Delta
To promote language literature, and literacy; to honor those who achieve excellence in these areas.
Advisor: Andrea Porter, English Department, 26-782-5861
Email: aporter@jsu.edu

Social Work Club
To promote a positive image of social work on campus and in the community.
Advisor: Jonathan Adams, Social Work Department, 256-782-5338
Email: jadams@jsu.edu

Society of Professional Journalist
To promote diversity, freedom of information and ethics.
Advisor: Mike Stedham, Communications Department, 256-782-5713
Email: mstedham@jsu.edu

Society for Human Resource Managers (SHRM)
To promote professional networking and educating future human resource managers.
Advisor: Hill Mayfield, Management and Marketing, 256-782-5272
Email: hayfield@jsu.edu

Sociology Club
To promote professional, intellectual and personal growth, to encourage community consciousness by sponsoring activities of interest for students, to promote the ideas of service and scholarship through the discipline of sociology, to cooperate with other organizations at JSU, to continually strive to serve the community and better understand the social forces shping it.
Advisor: Tina Deshotels, Sociology, 256-782-5350
Email: tdeshotels@jsu,edu

Student Chapter American Choral Directors Association
The mission of the ACDA is to inspire excellence in choral music through education, performance, composition and advocacy
Advisor: Patricia Corbin, Music Department, 256-782-5544
Email: pcorbin@jsu.edu

Tri-Beta
To promote scholarship, spread knowledge and encourage research in the biological sciences.
Advisor: Lori Tolley-Jordan, Biology Department, 256-782-5964
Email: ljordan@jsu.edu
Back to Top