Professional Department Clubs


Alpha Kappa Psi
The mission of the Psi Chi Chapter of Alpha Kappa Psi is to produce a legacy of leaders that will flourish in morality, education and professionalism.
Advisor: Jimmeka Leverette, Career Services, 256-782-5092
Email: jleverette@jsu.edu


Alpha Phi Sigma (Criminal Justice Honor Society)
To recognize and promote academic excellence among students engaged in collegiate preparation for professional service in the field of criminal justice.
Advisor: H. Dean Buttram, Criminal Justice, 256-782-8179
Email: dbuttram@jsu.edu


American Chemical Society 
To advance the interest in chemistry through education and research.
Advisor: Al Nichols, Physical and Earth Science, 256-782-8150
Email: anichols@jsu.edu


American Institute of Graphic Arts (AIGA)
To get the students involved in the local design community, create a community of their own and help them build leadership and design skills that will be valuable as they move into the professional world.
Advisor: Christian Dunn, Art Department, 256-782-5622
Email: cdunn6@jsu.edu 

                                                                                                                
Collegiate National Association for Music Education
The goal of CNAfME is to advance music education by promoting the understanding and making of music by all.
Advisor: Renee Baptiste, Music Department, 256-782-5873
Email: baptiste@jsu.edu


FCS Association
To unify the concentrations within FCS into a student unit chapter of AAFCS with involvement in chapter meetings, fundraisers, conferences, and community and state initiatives. 
Advisor: Robbie Boggs, Family and Consumer Sciences, 256-782-5056
Email: rboggs@jsu.edu


Geography Club
To further interest in and visibility of geography at JSU and in the surrounding region.
Advisor: Vicki Tinnon, Geography Department, 256-782-5216
Email: vtbrock@jsu.edu


Jacksonville Association of Nursing Students (JANS)
Promoting a positive image of nursing throughout the local, state and national level.
Advisor: Melissa Duckett, School of Health Professions and Wellness, 256-782-5270
Email: mduckett@jsu.edu


Jacksonville State University International Association of Emergency Managers (JSUIAEM)
The goal of JSU-IAEM is to help advance the emergency management profession by bridging the gap between academics and practice among student members and working professionals.
Advisor: Jeff Van Slyke, PhD, Emergency Management
Email:jvanslyke@jsu.edu 

                                                                                                                                                                                                                                       
Lambda Alpha Epsilon (Alpha Sigma Omega)
The goal of the organization is to represent JSU and the Criminal Justice department in regional and national competitions as well as help the community.
Advisor: Brian Patton, Department of Criminal Justice & Forensic Investigation, 256-782-8126
Email: bepatton@jsu.edu


Leadership House for Women
The leadership House for Women program at Jacksonville State University consists of a one year leadership program that provides opportunities for students to study and apply leadership skills such as confidence, integrity, persistence, teamwork, and the desire for excellence. Through this program students will have the ability to positively influence both the campus and global communities.
Advisor: Audry Simmons, Residence Life, 256-782-6874
Email: amsimmons@jsu.edu


Nu Phi Chapter of Beta Alpha Psi
To promote the study and practice of accounting and finance. The primary objective of Beta Alpha Psi is to encourage and give recognition to scholastic and professional excellence in the business information field.
Advisor: Taleah Collum/Julie Staples, Accounting, 256-782-8418
Email: tcollum@jsu.edu


Premedical Chapter of the American Medical Student Association
To provide an environment that supports the creative ideas of physicians-in-training.
Advisor: Benjie Blair, Ph.D., Biology, 256-782-5643
Email: bblair@jsu.edu


Psychology Club
To help students interested in psychology learn more about it, attend psychology conferences, and find careers in psychology-related fields.
Advisor: Heidi Dempsey, Psychology and Philosophy Department, 256-782-5895
Email: hdempsey@jsu.edu


Public Relations Student Society of America
The Public Relations Organization is to provide an atmosphere of growth and development as young public relations professionals. We will thrive morally, educationally, and historically.
Advisor: Augustine Ihator, Communication Department, 256-782-8205
Email: aihator@jsu.edu 


Society for Human Resource Managers (SHRM)
To promote professional networking and educating future human resource managers.
Advisor: Hill Mayfield, Management and Marketing, 256-782-5272
Email: hmayfield@jsu.edu


Sociology Club
To promote professional, intellectual and personal growth, to encourage community consciousness by sponsoring activities of interest for students, to promote the ideas of service and scholarship through the discipline of sociology, to cooperate with other organizations at JSU, to continually strive to serve the community and better understand the social forces shaping it.
Advisor: Tina Deshotels, Sociology, 256-782-5350
Email: tdeshotels@jsu.edu