JSU Students Lead Peers at 30th Annual Collegiate Legislature


The 2024 JSU delegation at the Collegiate Legislature conference.
Twenty-two JSU students joined their peers in Montgomery recently to participate in the 30th annual YMCA Collegiate Legislature Conference, where they had the opportunity to draft, debate and pass mock legislation impacting the future of Alabama.

The annual experiences gives students a chance to develop their public speaking skills, network with students from other universities and represent JSU in the state capital. Participants debate bills they draft in the Alabama State Legislature Chambers, which Alabama Senators and Representatives use when they pass legislation that affects the citizens of Alabama.

JSU's delegation represented the university well, winning a total of 8 of the 12 elected leadership positions available, as follows:

  • Collegiate Governor, Kaitlyn Letson
  • Lieutenant Governor, Keyon-Dre Swift
  • Speaker of the House, Tanaya Fairbanks
  • Senate Pro Tempore, Nathan Bean
  • House Pro Tempore, De'Onta Bush
  • Senate Floor Leader, Dylan Lee
  • House Floor Leader, Miller Small
  • Senate Chaplain, Jackson Davis
The Gamecocks also won the following awards:

Outstanding Statesman of the House, Miller Small
Outstanding JSU Delegate, Jonah Czar
Best Senate Bill, Jonah Czar

"Considering there were six other universities present, Jacksonville State claiming 8 of the 12 seats was pretty incredible"," said Dylan Lee, chaplain of the JSU Student Senate. "It really showcases our dedication and leadership within this program."

JSU students accepted into the program attend the conference free of charge, courtesy of the Dean of Students office.

"I have watched this program change the lives of so many students, including my own," said Kaitlyn Letson, JSU's vice president of Student Senate, who was elected as governor of the Collegiate Legislature this year. "I am so thankful that Jacksonville State offers this opportunity so that they may grow and lead beyond the university."

The Gamecocks will return to the 31st annual Collegiate Legislature Conference in Spring 2025.