Students Elect 2023-2024 SGA Leaders


Tierra Thatch, JSU's 75th SGA president, with President Don Killingsworth.

by Buffy Lockette

Tierra Thatch of Athens, Ala., has been elected by her peers to serve as president of the Student Government Association at Jacksonville State University for 2023-2024.

This will be the third elected SGA position for the junior nursing major, who has spent the past two years as vice president of student activities. She has also served as vice president of the JSU NAACP, director of marketing and communications for the Black Student Union and is a member of Alpha Kappa Alpha sorority.

"Going into this year, I am very optimistic about the future of JSU and how we, as a whole, can grow together at the Friendliest Campus in the South," Thatch said.

Rounding out the executive branch of the SGA will include the following newly elected officers:

  • Vice President of Student Activities: De’Onta Bush 
  • Vice President of Student Senate: Kaitlyn Letson 
  • Vice President of Public Relations: Keyonna Lovett
  • Vice President of Organizational Affairs: Tanaya Fairbanks 

Students selected the following classmates to represent them on Student Senate:

  • Nathan Bean 
  • Camryn Brenn 
  • Mallia Brown 
  • AJ Cawford 
  • Joshua Coheely  
  • Jonah Czar 
  • Brian Daniels 
  • Jackson Davis 
  • McKenzie French 
  • Alejandra Guzman 
  • John Hudson 
  • Faith Kelly 
  • Joseph Lee 
  • Brendan Lockwood 
  • Destiny Mack 
  • Venessa Marcum 
  • Lyndon Mixon
  • Dwight Oatis 
  • Ashlyn Smith 
  • Christian Thomas 
  • Olivia Twiggs 
  • Janeyah Upshaw 

Finally, the following were chosen for Mr. and Ms. Friendly and Mr. and Ms. Jax State:

  • Ms. Friendly: Mandy Olivier 
  • Mr. Friendly: Jake Gibbons
  • Ms. Jax State: Caroline Phillips 
  • Mr. Jax State: Jaden Mcgee