University Honors Outstanding Faculty


Despite the limitations of social distancing, JSU Acting President Don Killingsworth and Provost Christie Shelton could not let the 2020 academic year end without recognizing the university’s outstanding faculty. 

Broadcasting live on Microsoft Teams and Facebook Live from Bibb Graves Hall’s Gold Room on May 4, outfitted in red and white face masks, Dr. Killingsworth and Dr. Shelton announced the recipients of the annual faculty awards, recognized those who had been awarded tenure and/or promotion, and honored retiring faculty. 

“Thank you, faculty, for what you have done,” Killingsworth said. “It has been a trying year all the way around, this whole academic year has been trying, and we understand that and we are thankful for the faculty we have. It has not gone unnoticed. We appreciate the work you have done, not only for our students, but the community as as a whole. The awards that are given out today show how great our faculty are.” 

The awards are usually announced at the annual Faculty Awards Banquet at the end of the spring semester but, due to COVID-19, the event had to be cancelled this year. Shelton said an in-person celebration will be held this fall, during which time the award recipients will be recognized in person, along with the winners of the faculty research awards, service pin recipients, and the Faculty Senate.

The honorees included: 


George Mehaffy Excellence in Learning Technology Award: Dr. Ahmad Alhammouri

Faculty Scholar Lecturer Award: Dr. Ellen Peck

Cleo and Carla Thomas Outstanding Community Education/Service Award: Dr. Teresa Reed

William A. Meehan Legacy Award: Dr. Bill Fielding

Ray and Ruth Ringer Award: Dr. Benjie Blair

McWhorter Outstanding Teacher Award: Dr. Ken Bodiford


  • Dr. Mackenzie Bayles, Associate Professor with tenure
  • Dr. Sarah Donley, Associate Professor with tenure
  • Dr. Donna Dunn, Professor with tenure
  • Dr. William Hankins, Associate Professor with tenure
  • Dr. Lori Hill, Associate Professor with tenure
  • Dr. Alessandra Jerolleman, Associate Professor with tenure
  • Allison McElroy, Professor
  • Dr. Paige McKerchar, Professor
  • Dr. Linda Mitchell, Professor
  • Dr. Kelly Paynter, Associate Professor with tenure
  • Dr. Donna Perygin,  Associate Professor with tenure
  • Dr. Emily Sims, Associate Professor with tenure
  • Yingqi Tang, Professor
  • Dr. David Thornton, Professor
  • Dr. Hungwei Tseng, Associate Professor


  • Dee Barclift
  • Teresa Crosby
  • Dr. Robert Felgar
  • Dr. William Fielding
  • Dr. Debra Goodwin
  • Dr. Kingsley Harbor
  • Dr. Miriam Hill
  • Dr. Harry Holstein
  • Dr. Dan Krejci
  • Joy Maloney
  • David Myer
  • Dr. Roland Thornburg