COVID-19 Update: April 7

Dear Students, Faculty, and Staff,

Due to the disruption caused by the COVID-19 global pandemic, the JSU administration has adopted an alternate grading policy of Pass/No Credit for the spring 2020 semester only. The policy will apply to most undergraduate and graduate students. Students in certain professional programs will not be able to use the Pass/No Credit option.

Faculty will assign letter grades for courses, as usual, and students will be able to view grades by May 1 after 3:30 p.m. After reviewing grades, students will be able to complete a form to request the Pass/No Credit option on a course by course basis. A designated school official will receive and review each student’s request form. Students will receive email notification of approval or denial of the options. If further discussion is necessary, students will be contacted individually by a school official or designee.

After grades are posted on May 1, students graduating this semester will have until May 4 at 3:30 p.m. to submit a request for Pass/NC, while all other students will have until May 8 at 3:30 p.m. The request form will not be available for access until May 1 at 4 p.m. If the request is not submitted by the deadline, the letter grades will stand. More details on the steps to request this option will be sent to students during finals week.

In conjunction with the alternate grading option, the last day to drop/withdraw without academic penalty has also been extended to April 21. We are hopeful this extension will allow students to maximize achievement in their courses before making a decision to drop or withdraw. Students should review the FAQ list online as they consider the P/NC options. This list is continuously updated as questions arise from students, so please check it frequently.

I understand this has been a trying time for everyone on campus. We hope this policy eases some of the stress, while also ensuring that students receive the education they deserve.

Thank you,
Dr. Don C. Killingsworth, Jr.
Acting President