Click Selection

Search News Releases:

News Resources
on the Web

2 January 2008
Annual Staff Awards 2007
Presentation of Service Pins

Jacksonville State University held its annual staff awards luncheon Monday, December 17, 2007. Service pins were awarded to employees for length of service to the University ranging from ten to forty years. Employees receiving service pins are pictured below.


Dr. A. Barry Cox was the sole recipient of the 40-year service pin. Dr. Cox came to Jacksonville State University in 1967 and retired as Professor of Chemistry and Director of the Institute for Emergency Preparedness at Jacksonville State University effective the first day of 2008.

Dr. Frank King, Associate Vice President of Distance Education, and Trula Addison, Secretary to the Director, JSU-Gadsden, received their 35-year service pins.

President Meehan was among those receiving their 30-year service pins.  Recipients of the 30-yeara pin include, from left, Carol Winsor, Word Processor Specialist, News Bureau; Dr. William A. Meehan, University President; Debby Bishop, Associate Athletics Director/SWA; and Sonja McAbee, Head of Technical Services, Houston Cole Library. Not shown is Coach James Hobbs, Head Men's and Women's Golf Coach.

Those receiving their 25-year service pins include, from left, Dr. William B. Carr, Professor of Education and Dean, College of Graduate Studies and Continuing Education; Dr. Sarah Latham, Professor of Nursing and Dean, College of Nursing and Health Sciences; Robbie Medders, Associate Director, Small Business Development Center; Robert Tucker, Physical Plant; Nancy Turner, Administrative Assistant, Alumni Affairs; Shelia Newell, Secretary to the Director of Special Services; and Brenda Barnwell, Housekeeping.

Twenty-year service pins were awarded to, from left, (front row) Brenda Measles, Housekeeper Supervisor; Stephanie Morgan, Secretary, Television Services; Norma Gunter, Administrative Secretary, Counseling and Career Services; Kelly Roberts, Secretary to the Dean, College of Commerce and Business Administration; Pam Findley, Director of Purchasing; Janet White, Director, Career Placement Services; Cathy Rose, Secretary to the Associate Vice President for Academic Affairs; (back row) Mike Hathcock, Director, Television Services and Engineering; Richard Riley, Physical Plant; Willard Butterwoth, Coordinator, Center for Economic Development; Russell Uesry, Supervisor of Operations, Information Technology; and Eddie Minton, Carpenter, Physical Plant.

Fifteen-year service pins were awarded to, from left, Vickie Adams, Director of Financial Aid; Amy Batchelor, Library Technical Assistant; William Batchelor, Circulation Assistant, University Library; Kathy Matthews, Administrative Assistant, Department of Technology and Engineering; Karen Gregg, Certification Advisor, College of Arts and Sciences; and Kristin Johnson, Program Analyst, Information Technology.  Not pictured are Mary Alice Angles and Angela Turner, Housekeeping.

Ten-year service pins were awarded to, from left, (front row) Cynthia Nabors, Secretary, Department of Continuing Education; Kelly Osterbind, University Registrar; Pamela Jumper, Secretary, Department of Health, Physical Education and Recreation; Dustin Christopher, Physical Plant; Sabrina Lawson, Sandra Romine, Angela Driggers, Housekeeping; (back row) Kaci Ogle, Director of Alumni Affairs; Vicki Trammell, Certification Advisor, College of Education and Professional Studies; Thomas Allred, Data Communications Network Specialist, Information Technology; John-Bauer Graham, Head of Public Services, University Library; Jimmy Surrett, Data Communications Network Specialist, Information Technology; Greg Roberts, Carpenter, Physical Plant.

Photos by University Photographer Steve Latham

Submit items for news releases by using the request form at