Click Selection

Search News Releases:

News Resources
on the Web

6 June 2007
JSU Ambassadors 2007-2008

JSU Ambassadors 2007-2008 pictured here are 1st row (l-r): Jennifer Evans, Emory Pruitt, Amanda Mowery, Meredith Harvey, Emily Smith, Mary Evans, Lauren Overstreet, Whitney Clifton. 2nd row (l-r): Tiffany Griggs, Amanda Adcock, Kaylin Holland, Megan Forsyth, Lacy Sherrell, Carrie Hicks, Kajuna Washington. 3rd row (l-r): Chad Hoffman, Liz Whitehead, Brett Socha, James Roscoe, Evan Jackson, Zach Patterson, & Tyrone Smiley. Not pictured: Terrence Windham.

Jacksonville State University recently selected the 2007-2008 JSU Ambassadors. The Ambassadors serve as the official representatives of the university serving at graduation, presidential functions, board of trustee meetings, career fairs and Preview Days. The Ambassadors assist the admissions counselors in recruiting prospective students and with on-campus events, traveling to area high schools with admissions counselors to give high schoolers a perspective on JSU.

“This organization works very hard to promote JSU and its recruiting efforts,” said Tracy Phillips, who works at the Visitor Center and serves as advisor to the Ambassadors.

To be selected as an Ambassador, students must apply annually and go through an interview process. Only those applicants who meet the requirements and exemplify outstanding leadership abilities are selected. To be an Ambassador, a student must have completed at least one full-time semester and have a GPA of at least 2.25.

Interested students must turn in an application along with three letters of recommendations from professors. After that, counselors from JSU’s Office of Admissions interview the applicants. This year 23 Ambassadors were chosen from over 75 applicants.

Andy Green, Admission Counselor, works closely with the Ambassadors and is excited by the selection of this current group of JSU Ambassadors. "More students applied this year than any other year," says Andy. "This year's ambassadors are a highly qualified group of individuals."

Returning Ambassadors are eligible to apply for one of two Ambassador administrator positions. They also go through an interview process. The 2007-08 Ambassador administrators selected this year are Chad Hoffman of Cusseta, AL, and Kajuna Washington of Cassville, GA.

“They help guide our organization by keeping up with events and those who will be attending,” explains Phillips, speaking on the role of the Ambassador administrators. “They also help keep the Ambassadors current on any changing information about the University and help plan the bi-weekly meetings.”

This year's JSU Ambassadors were selected last April. In May, the group held their mandatory yearly retreat at Lake Guntersville.

“It is a very busy time because we are trying to get to know each other and also get lots of information about JSU,” said Phillips.

They spent the weekend doing group and one-on-one activities, not only getting to know each other, but the University as well. Future events for the Ambassadors include JSU Career Fairs, Preview Days, and Emerging Leaders Day.

In addition to the newly selected JSU Ambassador administrators, other JSU Ambassadors selected for 2007-08 are:

Chad Hoffman Opelika, AL
Kajuna Washington Cartersville, GA
Amanda Adcock Oxford, AL
Whitney Clifton Oxford, AL
Jennifer Evans Pinson, AL
Mary Evans Weaver, AL
Megan Forsyth Double Springs, AL
Tiffany Griggs Birmingham, AL
Meredith Harvey Hoover, AL
Carrie Hicks Valley, AL
Kaylin Holland Gadsden, AL
Evan Jackson White Plains, AL
Amanda Mowery Dadeville, AL
Lauren Overstreet Gadsden, AL
Zach Patterson Bremen, GA
Emory Pruitt Jacksonville, AL
James Roscoe Irondale, AL
Lacy Sherrell Gadsden, AL
Tyrone Smiley Birmingham, AL
Emily Smith Summerville, GA
Brett Socha Albertville, AL
Liz Whitehead Mobile, AL
Terrence Windham Aliceville, AL

Submit items for news releases by using the request form at