Click Selection

Search News Releases:

News Resources
on the Web

4 April 2007
Writers’ Club Announces Poetry Contest Winners

The Writers’ Club announced the winners of its second annual R.U.M. Poetry Awards, named in honor of local physician Dr. Robert U. Moersch, at a poetry reading in the Gamecock Center on March 29. Frances Shannon Hutchinson won the first-place prize of $100 for her poem “The Footpath.” Russell Price took second place for “The Damned Poets” and Clifford J. Webb, third place for “Eating Flies.”

Runners-up were Amanda Gober, Aurelia Gooden, Carol Hilton, Megan Snider, and Larry Welch. The contest was judged by five English Department faculty including Dr. Pitt Harding, the club’s sponsor. The Writers’ Club also sponsors a fiction contest in the fall. Congratulations to the winners!

Submit items for news releases by using the request form at