Click Selection

Search News Releases:

News Resources
on the Web

24 May 2006

Three Inducted into JSU's Teacher Hall of Fame

Inductees into Jacksonville State University's Teacher Hall of Fame are pictured with JSU officials and guest, from left, Dr. Ann Jones, State Department of Education; Dr. Cynthia Harper, Dean, College of Education and Professional Studies; June Glenn (inductee, middle school division), Celeste Weaver (inductee, elementary school division), and President Bill Meehan. Not shown is Stoney M. Beavers, inductee, secondary school division, who was unable to attend the ceremony.

Winners of the oldest hall of fame of its kind in the state, the Jacksonville State University Teacher Hall of Fame, are as follows:

  • Mrs. Celeste Weaver of the Good Hope Elementary School in the Cullman County School System, winner of the elementary division;
  • Ms. June S. Glenn of the Robert F. Bumpus Middle School in the Hoover City School System, winner of the middle school division;
  • Mr. Stoney M. Beavers of Cleveland High School in the Blount County School System, winner of the secondary division.

The inductees were chosen recently from finalists nominated by school systems across the state and announced during a ceremony held May 19.

Mrs. Weaver has taught third grade for nine years and has a total of 20 years of teaching experience. She received a bachelor of science in education from Auburn in 1984 and a master's from the University of Alabama at Birmingham in 1988 and AA Certification in 2004. Her previous honors include Teacher of the Year award, Alabama Department of Education District VI (2001-02); Wal-Mart Teacher of the Year (2003); Alabama Conservation Teacher of the Year (200, 2001, 2004); "Take Pride in America" award from George Bush with invitation to White House (1990); Good Hope School Teacher of Year (2001, 2004); and was the recipient of an "Outstanding Teaching" resolution from the Alabama State Board of Education (2004).

Ms. Glenn has taught eighth grade algebra/pre-algebra for the past five years in her present position and has thirty-one years of teaching experience. She received a B.S. in secondary math from Auburn in 1973, and a master's in secondary math from the University of Alabama at Birmingham in 1975. Ms. Glenn is a National Board Certified Teacher in Early Adolescent Math. Ms. Glenn has been a member of the Secondary Mathematics Curriculum Committee for Hoover City Schools for five years and is presently on the Environmental Committee and a sponsor of the Earth Savers Club at Bumpus Middle School. She has served as the Math Team sponsor for two years at Bumpus and for twelve years previously in Dothan. Ms. Glenn participated in the Susan G. Komen Relay for Life fundraiser for cancer research for three years and organized a team the last year.

Mr. Stoney M. Beavers has taught tenth to twelfth grade English and Spanish for the past ten years and has 12 years of teaching experience (5 years, overseas experience). He received a master's in education from the University of Montevallo in 1991, an Ed.S. degree from the University of Alabama in 1998 and expects to receive his doctorate from the University of Alabama in 2006. Mr. Beavers received the National Milken Award (2005), the TCI Scholarship (2003-04), National Board Certification (2001); University of Alabama Alumni Fellowship (2003-04), Blount County/Wal-Mart Teacher of the Year award (1999), and Cleveland High School Teacher of the Year award (2005).

The three winners were selected from 15 nominees chosen as finalists for the JSU Teacher Hall of Fame. Nominees were eligible for awards in three divisions: elementary, middle school and secondary. The finalists were selected from a field of 66 nominees from 36 school systems in the state. The top five nominees from each of the three divisions were interviewed in Birmingham on April 3. This year's finalists are listed below.

Teacher Hall of Fame Finalists
Elementary Division
  • Ms. Marilyn B. Hudson
    Cherokee County School System
    Spring Garden School
  • Mrs. Celeste Weaver
    Cullman County School System
    Good Hope School
  • Mrs. Lynda Harmon
    Talladega County School System
    Munford Elementary School
  • Mrs. Pattie H. Thomas
    Talladega City School System
    Raymond L. Young School
  • Mrs. Polly Crow
    Calhoun County School System
    Saks Middle School
Middle School Division
  • Ms. Rhonda H. McCary
    Vestavia Hills City School System
    Pizitz Middle School
  • Ms. Delores S. Williams
    Lee County School System
    Smiths Station School
  • Ms. June S. Glenn
    Hoover City School System
    Robert F. Bumpus School
  • Mrs. Andrea Hope Harris
    Attalla City School System
    Etowah Middle School
  • Mrs. Renee I. Adams
    Boaz City School System
    Boaz Middle School
Secondary Division
  • Mrs. Betty Esslinger
    Scottsboro City School System
    Scottsboro High School
  • Mrs. Kellye McDowell
    Etowah County School System
    Southside High School
  • Ms. Annette B. Little
    Winston County School System
    Winston County High School
  • Mr. Stoney M. Beavers
    Blount County School System
    Cleveland High School
  • Mr. Troy J. Smith
    Hoover City School System
    Spain Park High School
For highlights of this year's Teacher Hall of Fame banquet and a history of this program including a listing of all the inductees, visit the JSU Teacher Hall of Fame
Web page on the College of Education and Professional Studies Web site.

Submit items for news releases by using the request form at