Click Selection

Search News Releases:

News Resources
on the Web

14 February 2006

Kaleidoscope Concert
Features Jay Evans, Trombonist

Jay Evans, principal trombonist with the Alabama Symphony Orchestra, will perform on campus in Mason Hall Performance Center on Wednesday evening, 15 February 2006 at 8:00 p.m. This concert is presented through the auspices of Kaleidoscope and the Walters Department of Music at Jacksonville State University.

Currently residing in Birmingham, Mr. Evans has performed widely throughout the United States and internationally. After receiving the Master of Music degree from the University of North Texas, he moved to New York City to perform with the National Orchestra Association. While there he also performed with other orchestras including Metropolitan Opera Orchestra, New York Philharmonic, American Symphony Orchestra, New York City Opera National Company Orchestra, and the Springfield (MA) Symphony Orchestra. He has been a Fellow in Trombone at the Tanglewood Music Center, and has performed as a participant at Festivale dei Due Monde both in Spoleto, Italy and Charleston, S.C. As a member of the “Dallas Brass”, he has appeared internationally in Japan and Australia as well as with major “Pops” orchestras including those in New York, Cincinnati and Philadelphia.

Mr. Evans’ program on Wednesday evening will include works by Kalinkowitsch, Piazzolla, Rota, Kubik, and Ewazen as well as arrangements of compositions by Mozart and Mendelssohn. He will be assisted by Joanna Sobkowska, Piano, and Dan Satterwhite, Bass Trombone.

Earlier in the day Mr. Evans will conduct a Master Class for trombone students at JSU as well as invited high school trombonists from the area served by the University.

This program is appropriate for families and especially for students interested in the literature of brass instruments. It is an opportunity to experience music in the intimate setting of Mason Hall on campus. The program is free and the public is cordially invited to attend.

Submit items for news releases by using the request form at