Click Selection

Search News Releases:

News Resources
on the Web

06 January 2009

From left: SGA President Jennifer Nix, Student Senate Vice President Tyrone Smiley, SGA Vice President of Organizational Affairs Destini Mayberry and Office of Institutional Research and Assessment student assistant Kristina Cothran pose with some of the prizes given away in the December 15, 2008 IDEA drawing. (Angie Finley/JSU Photo)


Students Win iPods, Free Books and
JSU Jump Drives in IDEA Drawing

One hundred thirteen Jacksonville State University students became winners in December because they had an IDEA.

IDEA is a campus-wide online course evaluation system recently implemented at JSU. One-half of the students enrolled in fall 2008 classes completed 13,316 course evaluation forms. From November 10 through December 5, students were given ample opportunities to participate either through email invitations or course URLs.

To boost response to the online course evaluation, students completing course evaluations were entered in the drawing. On December 15, the Office of Institutional Research and Assessment with the assistance of the Office of Student Life drew from the pool of participants to give away three iPod Touches, five iPod Shuffles, five JSU Bookstore gift certificates, and 100 JSU jump drives.

Winners of the iPod Touches, donated by the Office of the President, were: Edward Burkhalter, Morgan Pope, and Kimberly Megill.

Winners of the iPod Shuffles and gift certificates, all donated by the Office of the Vice President for Academic and Student Affairs, were: Cain Boxx, Joy Allen, Joshua Carroll, Lindsey Minton, Renee Hall, Meaghan Ray, Ashley Storey, Bianca Dates, Amy Boozer, and Melanie Manley.

JSU Jump Drive winners were: Brian Lannom, Brandon Milam, Bradley Rogers, Rebecca Turner, Crystal Mann, Huixian Lin, Jasmine Echols, Joshua McCormick, Joshua Page, Lindsey Bray, Megan Forsyth, John Williams, Brian Boozer, Celestial Hartline, Tiffany Johnson, Tavaris Fluellen, Dequana Ellis, Luke Carter, Lauren Pate, Audra Walker, Frances Hutchinson, Alejandro Loera, Garland Wilson, Emma Cahill , Stephen Young, Jill Lackey, Jacob Crump, Whitney Clifton, Nicole Gardner, Thomas Edwards, Amanda Fritz, Alexandra Paige, Jeffery Mahieu, Alfred Jefferson, Lisa Williams, Kyle Hoff, Morgan Whetstone, Michael Dickinson, Collene Williams , Patricia Long, Katherine McCarthy, Juliet Jackson, Robin Cockerill, Brittney Cunningham, Ashlie Barnes, Eric Braun, Joscelyn Martin, Elizabeth Romano, Kajuna Washington , Marlon White, Frederick Bass, Charles Freeman, Krystin Smith, Emily Young, Heather Evans, Lauren Haney, Cara Davis, Derricka McRath, Randolph Bridges, Ashley Mann, Jennifer O Steen, Dena Kennedy, Petra Herring, Mollie Thomason, Tanquella Bradford, Sarah Grantham, Allison Thrasher, Erin Barkwell, Bethany Denson, Kristen Cochran, Stephanie Howell, Heather Whitmire, Sharita Kyle, Kaci Reeves, Gilbert Peppers, Tamara Jelks, Cecil Sturdivant, Douglas Williams, Kristi Barnes, Alesha Row, Cheryl Zirkelbach, Ryan Pearl, Bethany Garmon, Timothy Hunt, Tiffany Henry, Karis Estes, Tiffany Parker, Leawona Cross, Kawarya Tuck, Jacob Boydston, Jessica Lee, Luke Johnson, Kazuhiro Akutagawa, Kayla Bates, Kelly Hancock, Kimberly Moore, Michael Speciale, Ninma Sheshi, Natasha Williams, Rachel Hatch.

(Winners, please note: If your name is listed among the winners, please bring your student ID card to Room 203 Bibb Graves Hall to claim your prize by January 31, 2009.)


Submit items for news releases by using the request form at