Click Selection

Search News Releases:

News Resources
on the Web

Director of New JSU English Language Institute Seeks Help in Recruiting from JSU International Students

14 December, 2004 — Dr. Philip R. Perkins, Director of the new JSU English Language Institute (ELI), is actively seeking the assistance of JSU's international students in recruiting students.

The ELI is a non-credit institute set up by Jacksonville State to help students learn academic English. The classes will be geared toward students who have an interest in studying at universities and colleges in the United States. However, students who would like to come for a short-term study experience are also encouraged to attend the institute.

Dr. Perkins feels that current JSU international students' enthusiasm and knowledge about Jacksonville State will help convince people to come and join us, even if it is only for a short course. As international students, you have more potential than anyone to be effective recruiters for the institute. Dr. Perkins asks that international students please tell their family, friends, and former classmates in their home countries about the English Language Institute. Dr. Perkins also requests international students to consider informing former high school and university administrators and instructors about ELI as they might have students who would be interested in attending our courses. Dr. Perkins feels assistance from our international students will be very helpful to the institute, especially from those who are home for the holidays.

The ELI schedule is made up of six sessions per year consisting of two 6-week intensive sessions in the summer semester and two 8-week sessions in the fall and spring semesters respectively. Students who are interested in a short-term experience may choose to attend for one session or even a half session. The basic courses in the curriculum can be broken down into four categories: Reading/Writing, Listening/Speaking, Grammar, and Culture. Other optional courses and a TOEFL course will also be offered during institute sessions. Students will take a total 160 hours of classroom instruction per session, regardless of session length.

The tuition cost of the program has not yet been decided, but the tuition will most likely fall around $1,700 per session. Housing costs will be approximately $400 for six weeks and $535 for eight weeks in Patterson dorm. More up-to-date, detailed, and “official” information concerning these costs and meal plan information will be available on the ELI website which should be up and running by the end of January, if not sooner. In addition, there will be a short and downloadable ELI application available on the website. The application deadlines and other important dates are contained in the academic calendar below.

English Language Institute Academic Calendar

Summer 2005 1st 6-Week Session

  • Monday, April 3 - Summer I application deadline
  • Monday, May 23 – Students' Arrival on Campus
  • Tuesday-Wednesday, May 24-25 – Orientation
  • Thursday, May 26 – Placement Testing and Registration
  • Friday, May 27 – First Day of Class
  • Monday, May 30 – Memorial Day Holiday
  • Monday, July 4 - Independence Day Holiday
  • Monday, July 11 – Last Day of Class
Summer 2005 2nd 6-Week Session

  • Monday, May 16 - Summer II Application Deadline
  • Sunday, July 10 – Students' Arrival on Campus
  • Monday-Tuesday, July 11-12 – Orientation
  • Wednesday- Thursday, July 13-14 – Placement Testing and Registration
  • Friday, July 15 – First Day of Class
  • Thursday, August 25 – Last Day of Class
Fall 2005 1st 8-Week Session

  • Monday, June 27 - Fall I Application Deadline
  • Wednesday, August 24 - Student Arrival on Campus
  • Thursday-Friday, August 25-26 - Orientation
  • Monday, August 29 – Placement Testing and Registration
  • Tuesday, August 30 – First Day of Class
  • Monday, September 5 – Labor Day Holiday
  • Monday, October 24 – Last Day of Class
Fall 2005 2nd 8-Week Session

  • Monday, August 29- Fall II Application Deadline
  • Thursday, October 27- Student Arrival on Campus
  • Friday, October 28- Orientation
  • Tuesday, October 25 – Placement Testing and Registration
  • Wednesday, October 26 – First Day of Class
  • Wednesday-Friday, November 23-25 – Thanksgiving Holidays
  • Friday, December 23 – Last Day of Class
Spring 2006 1st 8-Week Session (Tentative Schedule)

  • Tuesday, January 3 – Placement Testing and Registration
  • Wednesday, January 4 – First Day of Class
  • Monday, January 16 – Martin Luther King Holiday
  • Wednesday, March 1 – Last Day of Class
Spring 2006 2nd 8-Week Session (Tentative Schedule)

  • Friday, March 3 – Placement Testing and Registration
  • Monday, March 6 – First Day of Class
  • Monday-Friday, March 13-17 – Spring Break
  • Friday, May 5 – Last Day of Class
If anyone has an interest in the JSU English Language Institute, please contact Dr. Philip R. Perkins, English Language Institute, 256-782-8350, or send an email to Dr. Philip Perkins, at and he will do everything possible to help them join us here in Jacksonville.

Submit items for news releases by using the request form at