Click Selection

Search News Releases:

News Resources
on the Web

9 May 2006
Upsilon Pi Epsilon Charter Ceremony
April 1, 2006

UPE National Representative Dr. Bob Groggio (far right) presents the UPE charter to Tyler S. Gomez, UPE Charter President.

The JSU Alabama Zeta Chapter of Upsilon Pi Epsilon had its charter ceremony in the Gamecock Center on April 1, 2006. Upsilon Pi Epsilon is an honorary society whose membership consists of outstanding undergraduate and graduate students in Computing and Information Disciplines.

Only schools that offer a degree in a computing science-related discipline may be chartered. Likewise, prospective student members must be working toward a degree in Computing and Information Disciplines at the time they are considered for membership.

Members are chosen not only for their scholastic achievement in a computing science program, but also for distinguishing themselves as true professionals by meeting the standards of the society. Membership is limited to those who can effectively achieve the original goals of the society. These goals include:
  1. the recognition of outstanding talent in the field of computing science,
  2. the promotion of high scholarship in computing science,
  3. the establishment and maintenance of high standards in computing science,
  4. the representation of computing science in interdisciplinary communications, and
  5. The encouragement of individual contributions to society through computing science.

UPE student charter members take their oath.

The charter student members included: Etsuko Abe, Philip Alldredge, Heath Anderson, Alvin Ashley, David Becker, James Colburn, Shirley Crow, Thomas Ford, Tyler Gomez, Jacob Kohute, Crystal Lawhorn, Joseph Mwangi, Bryan Price, Lori Ann Ray, Cheneil Sanders, Chrissy Scott, William Scroggins, Valene Singleton, Jay Snellen, William Thomas, Robin Tuladhar, Sirish Velkour, and Jeffrey Zanzig.

Charter faculty members included: Jan Case, Ann Edwards, Guillermo Francia (faculty advisor), Fred Kelley, Srinivasarao Krishnaprasad, Karen Myers, Mary Jane Peters, and Monica Trifas.

Submit items for news releases by using the request form at