JSU Newswire
Jacksonville, Alabama

Finalists for JSU's Teacher Hall of Fame

JACKSONVILLE -- May 3, 2001 -- In 1969, Jacksonville State University initiated a Teacher Hall of Fame to honor and give recognition to the classroom teachers of the public schools of the State of Alabama. To date sixty-three teachers from the public school systems of Alabama have been inducted into this organization.

Each public school system in the state is asked to nominate one elementary teacher, one middle-level teacher, and one secondary teacher each year to be considered for the award. These nominees are selected in accordance with certain criteria. One criterion is that the nominee must be currently teaching subject matter to students fifty percent or more of each school day. No preference is given to nominees who may have attended Jacksonville State University. An impartial Selection Committee chooses the recipients of this award after a personal interview and the selection is made by secret ballot.

Nomination, support letters, etc., concerning each nominee shall be limited to: executed nominee form signed by the superintendent, letter of recommendation from principal of school where nominee is teaching, letters from two colleagues, letters from two former students of nominee, a current resume or vita, and a philosophy of education.

The following are the top 15 finalists, the school and school system where they teach:

  • Debbie Pearce Adair - Indian Valley Elementary, Sylacauga City Schools
  • Barbara Hicks Bennett - Jacksonville High School, Jacksonville City Schools
  • Betty J. Gunn - Odenville Middle, St. Clair County
  • Roy Hudson - Shades Valley High School, Jefferson County
  • Billy Jenkins - Ivalee Elementary, Etowah County
  • Donna M. Martin - Blountsville Elementary, Blount County
  • Patricia Powell-McCullers - J.U. Blacksher School, Monroe County
  • Janice K. Nabors - Etowah Middle School, Attalla City Schools
  • Katrina H. Renfroe - Daphne Elementary, Baldwin County
  • Beth Rollings - Trace Crossings Elementary, Hoover City Schools
  • Rhonda Willoughby Springfield - Albertville High School, Albertville City Schools
  • Esther Ruth Terry - Snow Rogers Elementary, Jefferson County
  • Nancy Adams Waldrop - Alabama Avenue Middle, Albertville City Schools
  • Leslie Glenn Welker - Holt High School, Tuscaloosa, County
  • Cynthia Welsh - Centre Middle School, Cherokee County

The winners will be announced at a Teacher Hall of Fame Program on May 14, 2001 at 7:00 p.m. in Stephenson Hall. Teachers who receive the Hall of Fame award will be given a plaque in their honor placed in the lobby of the Houston Cole Library on the Jacksonville State University Campus.


Home Search Help Contact JSU
© Copyright 2001:   Jacksonville State University Pagemaster