JSU Newswire
Jacksonville, Alabama

JSU's Teacher Hall of Fame Inducts Three Alabama Teachers

JACKSONVILLE -- June 12, 2002 -- Three Alabama teachers have been inducted into the Jacksonville State University's Teacher Hall of Fame.

Faith Murphy Roberts, of Mobile, a first grade teacher at Peter Joe Hamilton Elementary in Mobile County, was recognized at the Elementary School level. Kimberly Anne Bain, of Pelham, who teaches band for grades six through nine at R. F. Bumpus Middle School in the Hoover City School System was recognized at the Middle School level. And Carolyn Harris Serviss, of Jacksonville, an eleventh grade U.S. history and geography teacher and a dual enrollment history teacher at Saks High School was recognized at the Secondary Level.

The three inductees received certificates and will have their names inscribed on the Hall of Fame plaque which is displayed in the lobby of the Houston Cole Library on the JSU campus.

The JSU Teacher Hall of Fame, the oldest of its type in the state, was established by JSU President Houston Cole in 1969 to honor outstanding public classroom teachers. Sixty-six previous winners have been inducted into the state's oldest teacher recognition program.

Each public school system in the state is asked to nominate one elementary teacher, one middle-level teacher, and one secondary teacher each year to be considered for the award. These nominees are selected in accordance with certain criteria. One criterion is that the nominee must be currently teaching subject matter to students fifty percent or more of each school day. No preference is given to nominees who may have attended Jacksonville State University. An impartial Selection Committee chooses the recipients of this award after a personal interview and the selection is made by secret ballot.

Nomination, support letters, etc., concerning each nominee is limited to: executed nominee form signed by the superintendent, letter of recommendation from principal of school where nominee is teaching, letters from two colleagues, letters from two former students of nominee, a current resume or vita, and a philosophy of education.

The following are the remaining finalists who were also nominated for the award:

Elementary Division
  • Dianna Adams, of Albertville, a fourth-grade teacher in the Albertville City School System.
  • Shirley J. Farrel, of Birmingham, who teaches the gifted and school enrichment classes for grades K-5 at Leeds Elementary School.
  • Jeanne T. Nelson, of Oneonta, who teaches Kindergarten at Oneonta Elementary School.
  • Teresa Morton Owens, of Horton, who teaches fifth-grade math and reading at Susan Moore Elementary School.
Middle School Division

  • Shirley S. Bowman, of Anniston, who teaches English for grades seven through nine and Physical Education for grades six through nine at DeArmanville Jr. High.
  • Robert Ham, of Hayden, a seventh grade science teacher for Hayden High School in Blount County.
  • Denise F. Ware, of Monroeville, who teaches sixth grade science, math, language and reading for Beatrice Elementary in Monroe County.
  • Teresa A. Barnett, of Carrollton, a sixth grade Math teacher at Carrollton Unit School.
Secondary Division

  • Jane Clayton, of Montevallo, an English teacher for grade 11, a speech and drama teacher for grades nine through 12 at Montevallo High School.
  • Glenda C. Gaines, of Sylacauga, a physical education teacher for grades seven through 12, a ninth grade world history teacher, and a tenth grade American history teacher for B. B. Comer Memorial High School in Talladega County.
  • Elizabeth T. Martin, of Springville, a special education teacher for grades nine through 12 at Pinson Valley High School in Jefferson County.
  • Oscar D. Watts, III, of Tuscaloosa, a Band and Music Appreciation teacher for grades 9-12 at Central High School East Campus.


Home Search Help Contact JSU
© Copyright 2002:   Jacksonville State University Pagemaster