JSU Newswire
Jacksonville, Alabama

Newly Elected SGA Officers

By Stephanie Pendergrass
The Chanticleer

JACKSONVILLE -- March 15, 2001 -- The votes have been tallied and new Student Government Association officers have been named at Jacksonville State University. The new officers will lead the SGA for the 2001-2002 school year.

In a close election, the SGA’s positions have been filled by four women. Miranda Alisha Killingsworth of Alexander City, AL; Stephanie Ann Janis of Huntsville, AL; Joy Anne Boyd from Lawrenceville, GA; and Mary Beth Edwards from Summerville, GA, are this year’s winners. Killingworth won the office of president; Janis, first vice president; Boyd, Second Vice President; and Edwards, Controller.

Miranda Killingworth is a junior majoring in elementary education. She serves as SGA Controller and is a member of the 2001 Orientation Team. She is also Panhellenic President and is an Alpha Xi Delta sorority officer. Her older brother, Don, is the Graduate Advisor to the SGA.

Along with Killingworth, five others sought the position of president. Stephen Brackett, Brandon Lewis, Donnell Humes, Matt Wiram and Cicely Hayes were among all running for the position. Killingworth was unavailable for comment at the time of this writing.

Stephanie Janis is a sophomore majoring in Criminal Justice. She serves as an SGA Senator, Historian for Zeta Tau Alpha sorority and was a JSU collegiate legislature representative. Janis is also a Gamecock hostess, a team captain for Up ‘Til Dawn, and has served on the homecoming committee and as chair for the blood drive.

Sherry Todd and Brad Medaris were running along with Janis for the seat of First Vice President. “I want more student involvement,” said Janis. “I think [the deciding factor] was getting out there and talking to people. I would like to thank anybody and everybody who voted for me. Being involved in the SGA is where my heart is.”

Joy Boyd is a junior majoring in history. She serves as an SGA Senator, is a member of the Student Activities Council, Parliamentary Affairs Committee and is Chapter Relations’ Chair of Alpha Omicron Pi. Boyd is also entertainment chairperson for Up ‘Til Dawn and is a member of the History Club.

Leigha Cauthen and Daniel Dewberry both ran against Joy Boyd in the election of Second Vice President. “I think the personal contact I was able to have made a difference,” Boyd said. “I feel my biggest objective as Second Vice President would be to bring a large scale concert to Jacksonville. I want to see more students participate in the activities we offer and bring larger scale activities to the students.”

Mary Beth Edwards is a junior majoring in Communications. She currently serves as an SGA Senator and JSU Ambassador. Edwards is a member of Delta Zeta and JSU Panhellenic Public Relations. Emily Doty was the other candidate for the position of Controller.

“[I’d like to see] more people get involved, more people coming out and doing stuff, more school spirit, all [the] big issues, even down to the minor issues,” said Edwards. “I campaigned hard for this. I think getting out there and talking to people and letting them know what I could do [was decisive]. I would just like to thank the people that voted for me."


Home Search Help Contact JSU
© Copyright 2001:   Jacksonville State University Pagemaster