Content Top Nav Left Nav Utility Nav Site Search
Mobile Menu

Student Life

More Links

Special Interest Groups

Active Minds At JSU
To promote awareness and education and to remove the stigma that surrounds mental illness and to create an environment for discussion.
Advisor: Linda Shelton, Counseling Services, 256-782-5954
E-mail: lshelton@jsu.edu

African American Association
Encourages the exchange of ideas concerning African-American students at the University and promotes cultural understanding.
Advisor: Debbie Taylor, Student Life, 256-782-5490
E-mail: dbtaylor@jsu.edu

African Historical Society
To promote truths about African history to students and serve the community's local youth.
Advisor: Ardie Dial, Criminal Justice, Political Science and Public Administration, 256-782-5391
E-mail: adial@jsu.edu

Alpha Phi Omega
Alpha Phi Omega is a National Service Fraternity with the Cardinal Principles of Leadership, Friendship, and Service.
Advisor: Laurie Charnigo Phillips, Houston Cole Library, 256-782-5245
E-mail: charnigo@jsu.edu

American Chemical Society
Emphasize the importance and relivance of chemistry and offer tutoring services.
Advisor: Alfred Nichols, Physical and Earth Sciences, 256-782-8150
E-mail: anichols@jsu.edu

Ballroom Dance Club 
To promote social and competitive ballroom dancing.
Advisor: John Hammett, College of Education and Professional Studies. 256-782-8212
E-mail: jhammett@jsu.edu

Circle K International
Promote community service, leadership and fellowship among members of the JSU community
Advisor: Annette Daugherty, Nursing Department, 256-782-5934
E-mail: adaugherty@jsu.edu

College Democrats
Promote the views and success of the Democratic Party through active interaction
in the campus setting.
Advisor: Ron Mellen, Criminal Justice, 256-782-8243
E-mail: rmellen@jsu.edu

College Republicans
Encourages participation in the Republican Party.
Advisor: Dr. William Lester, Political Science, 256-782-5692
E-mail: wlester@jsu.edu

Collegiate Music Educators
Promotes the professional and artistic development of music teachers through professional conferences, in-service meetings, and events; supports the JSU Department of Music.
Advisor: Renee Baptiste, Music 256-782-5873
E-mail: bapiste@jsu.edu

Dietetic and Culinary/Hospitality Student Association
Promotes community and fundraising projects.
Advisor:Tim Roberts, Family and Consumer Sciences, 256-782-5870
E-mail: wroberts@jsu.edu

Doctor Who Appreciation League of English-Loving Kindred Spirits (D.A.L.E.K.S.)****Re-named JSU Fan Club****
To unite and explore our inner geek!
Advisor: Tanya Sasser, English Department, 256-782-5412
Email: tsasser@jsu.edu


E.A.R.T.H. Club
To raise awareness of abuse inflicted upon our planet and to promote recycling.
Advisor: James Rayburn, Biology, 256-782-5803
E-mail: rayburn@jsu.edu

Elite Ladies Organization
To encourage and inspire young women to serve in their community.
Advisor: Mary Clark, Counseling Department, 256-782-8166
E-mail: mclark@jsu.edu

ENACTUS
A community of student, academic and business leaders committed to using the power of entrepreneurial action to transform lives and shape a better more sustainable world.
Advisor: Rob Landry, Finance Economics Accounting, 256-782-8419
E-mail: rlandry@jsu.edu

Family and Consumer Sciences Club
To unify the concentration within Family and Consumer Sciences into a student chapter of the American Association of Family and Consumer Sciences (AAFCS).
Advisor: Robbie Boggs, Family and Consumer Sciences, 256-782-5056
E-mail: rboggs@jsu.edu

Fandon Association Network (FAN)-****Renamed JSU Fan Club****
To unite and explore our inner geek!
Advisor: Tanya Sasser, English Department, 256-782-5412
E-mail: tsasser@jsu.edu

Forever Young Modeling Troupe
To promote fashion and help build confidence.
Advisor: Earl Warren, University Advancement, 256-782-5608
E-mail: ewarren@jsu.edu

Freshman Forum
Provides freshmen an opportunity to become more involved in SGA. Must be an in-coming freshman who has shown campus involvement in high school and is committed to pursuing that commitment in college.
Advisor: Josh Robinson, Student Life, 256-782-5493
E-mail: jrobinson6@jsu.edu

History Club
To encourage further learning and understanding of our nations great history.
Advisor: Dr. L. Cook, History, 256-782-8309
E-mail: lcook@jsu.edu

Honor's Program
The Honor's Program provides academically gifted students with an enriched educational experience in a diverse range of courses which foster independent, critical thinking and effective communication.
Advisor: Steven Whitton, English, 256-782-5414
E-mail: swhitton@jsu.edu

Interfraternity Council
Association of nationally recognized fraternities which functions as the governing body and the Greek voice for JSU fraternities.
Advisor: Kristen Smith, Student Life, 256-782-5491
E-mail: khsmith@jsu.edu

International Association of Emergency Management Student Chapter
To promote academic and research excellence and opportunities within the fields of emergency management and homeland security as well as their related disciplines.
Advisor: Stacey Mann, Emergency Management, 256-782-5968
E-mail: scmann@jsu.edu, Emergency Preparedness, 256-782-5968

International Student Organization (ISO) 
To foster a cultural understanding and sharing between the international students and increase international student ties with the local community.
Advisor: Jeff Clark, International House, 256-782-5303
E-mail: jclark@jsu.edu

Ironclad Gaming
To teach the mechanics of the gaming system, basic role-playing, socializing and enjoying the gaming experience.
Advisor: Tanya Sasser, English Department, 256-782-5412
E-mail: tasser@jsu.edu

Jacksonville Association of Nursing Students
Promoting a positive image of nursing throughout the local, state and national level.
Advisor: Jennifer Frank, Nursing and Health Sciences, 256-782-9633
E-mail: jfrank@jsu.edu
Kay Prickett, Nursing and Health Sciences, 256-782-5909

Jax State Camo Squad
To promote the exploring nature and outdoor activities.
Advisors: Shawn Giddy, University Police Department, 256-782-5299
E-mail: sgiddy@jsu.edu
Robert Carter, Biology Department, 256-782-5144
E-Mail: rcarter@jsu.edu

JSU Fan Club 
To promote fellowship with individuals sharing similiar interests
Advisor: Tanya Sasser, English Department, 256-782-5412
E-mail: tsasser@jsu.edu

JSU Gamecock Ultimate Frisbee (Men)   
To encourage and teach teamwork, to be competitive, to become physically fit and have fun.
Advisor: Allen Gilbert, HPER department, 256-782-8012
E-mail: agilbert@jsu.edu

JSU Judo Jujitsu
To strive toward a harmonious development of the human character.
Advisor; Larry Beard, Curriculum and Instruction, 256-782-5078
E-mail: lbeard@jsu.edu

JSU Math Club
To promote the interest of mathematics among students.
Advisor: David Dempsey, MCIS, 256-782-5124
E-mail: ddempsey@jsu.edu

JSU Mixed Martial Arts(MMA)
To instruct students on basic and intermediate martial arts skills.
Advisor: Larry Beard, Curriculum and Instruction, 256-782-5078
E-mail: lbeard@jsu.edu

JSU Model Arab League-Geography
To learn more about the Arab world, to develop skills in parliamentary debate, and to participate in the Southeast Model Arab League sessions in the spring semester.
Advisor: Dr. L. J. Morgan, Georgraphy, 256-782-5216
E-mail: ljmorgan@jsu.edu

JSU Rugby
To promote teamwork, build charactr, and raise moral through playing rugby.
Advisor: Chris Westley, Finance. Economics,Accounting, 256-782-5392
E-mail: cwestley@jsu.edu

JSU Students for Equality
Promote and educate gay rights, issues as well as provide a safer environment for gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender students.
Advisor: Tina Deshotels, Sociology, 256-782-5350
E-mail: tdeshotels@jsu.edu

JSU Quidditch 
To promote quidditch through the use of games and to have a genuine interest.
Advisor: James Triplett, Biology Department, 256-782-5215
E-mail: jtriplett@jsu.edu

Justice & Civil Rights Initiative
The mission of the Justice and Civil Rights Initiative is to assist in the progression of civil, social and cultural understanding for all people, regardless of gender, race, color, creed, nationality, age, sexual orientation or disability.
Advisor: Erin Rider, Sociology and Social Work, 256-782-8477
E-mail: erider@jsu.edu

Kappa Mu Epsilon (Mathematics Honor Society)
To promote the interest of mathematics among undergraduate students and to recognize students who have attained academic distinction in mathematics.
Advisor: David Dempsey, MCIS, 256-782-5124
E-mail: ddempsey@jsu.edu

Kingdom Culture (formerly L.E.A.D.)
Promote striving for excellence in all areas of life.
Advisor: Rochelle Smith, Residence Life, 256-782-5128
E-mail: rdsmith@jsu.edu

Lambda Alpha Epsilon/ASO
To prepare and promote criminal justice majors or minors for Regional and National competitions.
Advisor: Randall Wood, Criminal Justice, 256-782-5340
E-mail: rwood@jsu.edu

Level Up
To provide a general understanding and interest of electronic gaming of the past, present and future.
Advisor: David Thornton, Computer Science, 256-782-5359
E-mail: thornton@jsu.edu

National Association for the Advancement of Colored People-N.A.A.C.P.
An outlet devoted to school involvement and community service.
Advisor: Debbie Taylor, Student Life, 256-782-5490
E-mail: dbtaylor@jsu.edu

National-Pan-Hellenic Council (NPHC)
Association of nationally recognized, traditionally African-American sororities and fraternities which functions as the governing body and Greek voice for JSU's traditionally African-American sororities and fraternities.
Advisor: Kristen Smith, Student Life, 256-782-5491
E-mail: khsmith@jsu.edu

National Society of Leadership and Success
Organization that provides experiential  learning to help promote leadership, personal development academically and professionally.
Advisor: Erin Rider, Sociology and Social Work, 256-782-8477
E-mail: erider@jsu.edu

Outdoor Adventure Club
The club would like to offer Jacksonville State University students the opportunity to try various outdoor activities and learn outdoor skills.
Advisor: Jimmy Griffin, HPER department, 256-782-5519
E-mail: jgriffin@jsu.edu

PanHellenic Council 
Association of nationally recognized sororities which functions as the governing body and the Greek voice for JSU sororities.
Advisor: Kristen Smith, Student Life, 256-782-5491
E-mail: khsmith@jsu.edu

Phi Mu Alpha Sinfonia
For the development and advancement of music.
Legare McIntosh, Music Department, 256-782-5560
E-mail: mcintosh@jsu.edu

Political Economy Club at Jacksonville State University
The club is a reading, discussion, and debate group to promote the study of classical liberal and libertarian theory at JSU. Its members are interested in the economics and politics of the free and virtuous society and do not generally subscribe to the dominate Left or Right paradigms associated with the two major political parties.
Advisor: Christ Westley, Finance Economics Accounting, 256-782-5392
E-mail: cwestley@jsu.edu

Political Science Model Arab League
To introduce students to all aspects of life in the Arab World while debating critical issues in an official format.
Advisor: Lori Owens, Political Science, 256-782-5106
E-mail: ljowens@jsu.edu

Pre-Law Society
To create a comfortable atmosphere for students to learn the process of pursuing law school.
Advisor: Lori Owens, Political Science, 256-782-5106
E-mail: ljowens@jsu.edu

Residence Hall Association
Provide a voice and address the concerns of residents living in JSU residence halls and apartments.
Advisor: Wesley Todd, Residence Life, 256-782-5860
E-mail: wtodd@jsu.edu

Retreat From The Heat
A college ministry providing students and young adults in the community the opportunity to fellowship together.
Advisor: Tracy Broom, Compliance, 256-782-5737
E-mail: tbroom@jsu.edu

Sav-A-Life Sav-A-Life is a life affirming ministry that offers emotional and spiritual help to women affected by unplanned pregnancies. Our mission is to help these women choose life for their babies and eternal life for themselves.
Advisor: Kay Coger, Teacher Service Center, 256-782-5574
Email: kcoger@jsu.edu

Spanish Club
The goal is to reach the community with awareness of the language and culture.
Advisor: Eduardo Pacheco, History, 256-782-8245
E-mail: epacheco@jsu.edu

Students Alumni Association
JSU Alumni are ready to assist and prepare students for jobs after college.
Advisor: Allen Renfroe, Alumni Relations, 256-782-8256
E-mail: arenfroe@jsu.edu

Student Government Association (SGA)
Promote the welfare of the student community by providing an avenue for student expression, social activities and student services. All enrolled students are members.
Advisor: Debbie Taylor, Student Life, 256-782-5491
E-mail: dbtaylor@jsu.edu

Tau Delta Phi
To encourage academic excellence, foster good moral decisions and enhance the ideals of brotherhood through the holistic development of its undergraduates.
Advisor: David Myer, English Department, 256-782-5464
E-mail: dmyer@jsu.edu

Women's Issues, Support and Empowerment
To promote a more balanced world, where every woman feels valuable. We hope to use our experiences as tools of empowerment, inspiration, and change. Through activism, we believe, ideals become reality.
Advisor: Erin Rider, Sociology Department, 256-782-8477
E-mail: erider@jsu.edu

Writers' Club
An artistic outlet that encourages writers to find their talent in a specific genre and to improve writings skills.
Advisor: Douglas O'Keefe, English, 256-782-5549
E-mail: dokeefe@jsu.edu

Young People Revolution (Y.P.R.) 
Creating and equipping the next generation of young leaders with professional skills to be successful.
Advisor: Ed Lett, Athlethic Department, 256-782-8101
E-mail: elett@jsu.edu

Back to Top