Honor Societies

Alpha Kappa Delta-Eta (AKD)
AKD-Eta founded in 1978, promotes the study of social issues for the benefit of humanity, while simultaneously providing a co-curricular outlet for students interested in the study of sociology. 
Advisor: Dr. Tina Deshotels, Sociology and Social Work, 256-782-5350
Email: tdeshotels@jsu.edu

Alpha Phi Sigma (Criminal Justice)
To recognize and promote academic excellence among students engaged in collegiate preparation for professional service in the field of criminal justice.
Advisor: H.Dean Buttram, Criminal Justice, 256-782-8179
Email: dbuttram@jsu.edu 

Beta Beta Beta Biology Honors Society
To encourage academic excellence in the field of biology as well as promoting research in biology.
Advisor: Michael Burns, Biology, 256-782-5036
E-mail: mburns3@jsu.edu


Honors Program
To provide academically gifted students with an enriched educational experience in a diverse
range of courses
Advisor: Lori Owens, Honors Program, 256-782-5640
Email: ljowens@jsu.edu


Kappa Mu Epsilon (Mathematics)
To promote the interest of mathematics among undergraduate students and to recognize students who have attained academic distinction in mathematics
Advisor: David Dempsey, MCIS, 256-782-5124
Email: ddempsey@jsu.edu 


Kappa Pi Honor Art Society
To form a body of student representatives with the highest ideals of education and artistic ability.
Advisor: John Noles, Art Department, 256-782-5626
Email: jnoles@jsu.edu


Lambda Alpha Epsilon (Alpha Sigma Omega)
To promote Education in the Criminal Justice field.
Advisor: Brian Patton, Department of Criminal Justice & Forensic Investigation, 256-782-8126
Email: bepatton@jsu.edu


Lambda Beta Society-JSU Chapter
The purpose of this society shall be to promote, recognize, and honor scholarship, scholarly achievement, service, and character of students, graduates, and faculty members of the Respiratory Care profession.
Advisor: Andres Crawley, Nursing and Respiratory Therapy, 256-782-5490
Email: acrawley@jsu.edu


Lambda Sigma Honor Society
Second year honor society that fosters leadership, scholarship, fellowship, and service.
Advisor: Keaton Glass, Dean of Students Office, 256-782-5493
Email: kglass@jsu.edu


National Society of Collegiate Scholars
The NSCS is an honors organization that recognizes and elevates high achievers. The NCSC provides career and graduate school connections, leadership and service opportunities and gives out a million dollars in scholarships annually. The members are deeply committed to scholarship, leadership and service and as a result, are impacting their campus and local communities every day.
Advisor: A. Michelle Green, Academic Advisement, 256-782-8303
Email: amgreen@jsu.edu


Pi Sigma Alpha
An honor society for upper-level students that have a specialized interest in political science.
Advisor: Benjamin Gross, Political Science and Public Administration, 256-782-5651
Email: bgross@jsu.edu


Psi Chi Chapter
Psi Chi Chapter is an international honor society whose purpose shall be to encourage, stimulate, and maintain excellence in scholarship of the individual members in all fields, particularly in psychology, and to advance the science of psychology.
Advisor: Heidi Dempsey, Psychology and Philosophy Department, 256-782-5895
Email: hdempsey@jsu.edu


Rho Lambda 
To be able to join the greek community in leading our campus and the community to recognize women who have excelled in their own chapters
Advisor: Josh Robinson, Dean of Students Office, 256-782-8492
Email: jrobinson6@jsu.edu