Honor Societies
JSU Home » Student Life » SGA » Honor Societies

Alpha Kappa Delta (Sociology Honor Society)
Recognizes outstanding students in the area of sociology. Open to junior and senior sociology majors with 3.0+ GPA; 3.0+ GPA in sociology at JSU; completed 4 courses in sociology, and elected by faculty.
Advisor: Tina Deshotels, Sociology Department, 256-782-5350
E-mail: tdeshotels@jsu.edu

Alpha Phi Sigma (Criminal Justice)
To recognize and promote academic excellence among students engaged in collegiate preparation for professional service in the field of criminal justice.
Advisor: H.Dean Buttram, Criminal Justice, 256-782-8179
E-mail:dbuttram@jsu.edu

Beta Beta Beta Biology Honors Society
To encourage academic excellence in the field of biology as well as promoting research in Biology.
Advisor: Lori Tolley-Jordan, Biology Department, 256-782-5964
E-mail: ljordan@jsu.edu

Chi Sigma Iota (Counseling Honor Society)
Promotes scholarship, research, professionalism, and excellence in counseling.
Advisor:Priscilla Wilson, Educational Resources, 256-782-5724
E-mail:pgwilson@jsu.edu

Honors Program
To provide academically gifted students with an enriched educational experience in a diverse
range of courses
Advisor: Steven Whitton and Janet Whitmore, Honors, 256-782-5696 or 5640
E-mail: swhitton@jsu.edu or jwhitmore@jsu.edu

Kappa Mu Epsilon (Mathematics)
To promote the interest of mathematics among undergraduate students and to recognize students who have attained academic distinction in mathematics
Advisor: David Dempsey, MCIS, 256-782-5124
E-mail: ddempsey@jsu.edu