Fagan Honors

Social Work Educator of the Year for 2011 for Alabama and Mississippi at the 40th Annual Alabama/Mississippi Social Work Education Conference in Meridian, Mississippi on November 17, 2011.  The following colleges and universities in Alabama and Mississippi make up the Alabama/Mississippi Social Work Education Association: The University of Alabama, Auburn University, UAB, Jacksonville State University, University of Mississippi, Mississippi State University, Delta State University, Oakwood University, The University of Montevallo, Alabama A&M University, Miles College, The University of Southern Mississippi, Mississippi Valley State University, The University of North Alabama, Jackson State University, Alcorn State University, The University of South Alabama, Alabama State University, Troy University, and Talladega College

Phi Kappa Phi National Academic Honor Society; Inducted in 2002

Nominated for the Alabama Tourism Hall of Fame for 2000

Jacksonville State University's National Alumni Association's Outstanding Faculty Member of the Year for 1999

Jacksonville State University Faculty Scholar Lecturer for 1997-1998

Distinguished Research Award for the College of Letters and Sciences at Jacksonville State University for 1992-93

Silver Award from the 1992 Mature Market Media Awards for The Guide to Retirement in Alabama with Leonard J. Hansen

Phi Alpha Honor Society for Social Work, inducted in 1992

Project of the Year Award for Economic Development in 1990 by the National Association of Management and Technical Assistance Centers for work with CED at JSU in regard to the development of the Alabama Advantage for Retirees program with ADECA

International Leaders in Achievement, 1990

Fourteenth Edition of Community Leaders of America, 1990

Outstanding Young Men of America for 1983

American Jaycees Volunteer of the Year for 1985 for Parents Anonymous of Calhoun County, Alabama

National Reference Directory Who' s Who Among Human Services Professionals, 1987

Faculty Research Award at Jacksonville State University each year from 1986-87 to 2008-2009

Alabama Leadership Network, A-Team Award for 1988

Individual Award by the Alabama Gerontological Society, nominated March, 1989 Return to Dr. Fagan's Home Page