Faculty Recognition Reception May 22, 2003, 5:00 p.m. Cole Auditorium

Entertainment: Piano Music by Jeremy Benson, Music Student

Presentation of Research Awards Dr. James Rayburn, Chair

Faculty Research Committee

Presentation of Service Pins
Recognition of Promotion & Tenure

Recognition of Retiring Faculty

Dr. William A. Meehan & Dr. Rebecca Turner

Presentation of Special Awards Ms. Linda Cain, Chair

Faculty Honors Committee

Earlon & Betty McWhorter Dr. William A. Meehan &

Outstanding Teacher Award 2003Mr. & Mrs. McWhorter

Cleo & Carla Thomas Award for Outstanding Community Education and Service 2003

Dr. William A. Meehan &

Mr. & Dr. Thomas

Faculty Scholar Lecturer Award 2003 Dr. William A. Meehan &

Ms. Linda Cain

Earlon and Betty McWhorter - Outstanding Teacher Award 2003

Ms. Deborah Curry

Ms. Curry is Instructor of Nursing and has been at JSU since 1994.

"Ms. Curry has the reputation among faculty and students as an exemplary nurse educator. In all endeavors, she is committed to excellence and continued professional growth."

"She has certainly demonstrated a commitment to the program, to the profession, and the preparation of the next generation of nursing professionals."

"I could not list the countless times Ms. Curry has met with students who were struggling in their coursework or their personal lives. She almost always has just the right words of encouragement and wisdom to help them pull through. She goes beyond the expected and achieves wonderful results."

"Debbie Curry combines clinical expertise with creative teaching strategies.

Passing her classroom, one is very likely to hear laughing erupt. She has the ability to combine humor with serious topics in such a way as to help the student remember major points."

"She is more than just an educator to us, she is a wonderful and compassionate nurse and friend."

Cleo and Carla Thomas Award for Outstanding Community Education and Service

Ms. Donna Smith

Ms. Smith is Instructor of Social Work and has been at JSU since 1984.

JSU Service

- \$ Faculty Council, College of Letters and Sciences, JSU, 1995-1996.
- \$ Sholarship Committee, Department of Sociology & Social Work, 1989 present.
- \$ JSU Social Work Advisory Board, 1984 present.

Community Service

- \$ AIDS Services Center, Inc., October 1991 to present.
- Medical Social Service Association (MSSA) of Anniston/Calhoun County, 1991 to present.
- \$ Family Services Center of Calhoun County, Board of Directors, 1997 to present, Vice President.
- \$ 2nd Chance, Inc., Board of Directors, 1988 to present.
- \$ Anniston/Calhoun Junior League, 1983 to present.
- \$ Calhoun County Medical Alliance, 1983 to present.
- \$ Calhoun County Medical Alliance, Board of Directors, 1992 to present.
- \$ National Health Care Advisory Board, 1994 to present.
- Quality Assurance Committee, Calhoun County Department of Human Resources, 1995 to present.

Recognition & Awards

- \$ Faculty Research Award, JSU, 1992-1993, 1993-1994, 1994-1995
- Sciences, 1995.
- Solution Standing Educator, Women Committed to excellence, Girl Scouts of America, 1994.
- \$ Member Phi Alpha National Social Work Honor Society, 1992 present.

"Ms. Smith has kept social work students, faculty, and the university closely linked to the community served by JSU. She has close professional ties to social service agencies throughout the region serviced by JSU. Those professional ties have resulted in the university being revered by staff in the social service agencies and professional social workers alike."

"Ms. Smith consistently demonstrates a commitment to her work and exhibits the special skills necessary to develop effective relationships in profession and service-related activities. She is frequently sought out by her peers to participate in university, community, and professionally related projects."

Faculty Scholar Lecturer

Dr. Nouredine Zettili

Dr. Zettili is Associate Professor of Physics and has been at JSU since 2000.

For publishing:

The 2nd edition of his internationally adopted text, <u>Quantum Mechanics: Concepts and Applications</u>, published by Wiley.

"His text is praised for its clarity and his approach to a subject most would find very challenging."

"That Dr. Zettili was chosen from a global pool of potential authors speaks volumes of the respect he has earned from the community of physicists."

Research Awards

Academic Affairs

Joe G. Delap

College of Arts and Sciences

Art

Diana Cadwallader

Biology

Safaa H. Al-Hamdani Benjamin G. Blair Robert Carter George R. Cline LaJoyce H. Debro Mijitaba Hamissou Mark Meade James R. Rayburn Frank A. Romano Roger Sauterer

English

Randall Davis
Carmine G. DiBiase
Joanne E. Gates
Gloria Horton

Susan Herport Methvin Teresa Reed Steven J. Whitton Lisa M. Williams

History & Foreign Languages

Nancy Blaine Llewellyn D. Cook

Institute for Emergency Preparedness

Brenda Phillips

Learning Services

Johnny M. Brown Claudia McDade

Mathematics, Computing & Info Sci.

Guillermo A. Francia Srinivasarao Krishnaprasad Edwin H. Smith

Physical & Earth Sciences

Kelly D. Gregg
Jan Gryko
Miriam Helen Hill
Harry Holstein
Hunter B. Johnson
Keith Little
Alfred C. Nichols
James Sewastynowicz
David Steffy
Laura Weinkauf
Nouredine Zettili

Psychology

William L. Palya

Sociology & Social Work

Mark Fagan Clark D. Hudspeth Maureen Newton Donna K. Smith

College of Commerce and Business Administration

Finance, Economics and Accounting

Ronnie J. Clayton Benjamin Hardy James E. McIntyre

Cynthia Ann Sneed John Edward Sneed **Christopher Westley** Jeff Zanzig Management, Marketing & E-Commerce Patricia C. Borstorff Brent J. Cunningham W. Mark Hearn James L. Thomas

College of Education and Professional Studies

Communication

Kingsley Harbor Augustine Ihator

Curriculum & Instruction

Stephen W. Armstrong Lawrence Beard Blanche Colley Elizabeth Engley Slenda Haynes Nina Marrs King Patricia Kramer Lowry Judy Hale McCrary Aquilla Mims Lynetta A. Owens Gena Rilev Jennifer C. Strain

Dean's Office

Cynthia Harper

Educational Resources

Sandra Fox Sudduth

Jerry D. Kiser J. Gordon Nelson **Charles Notar** Jan Wilson Barbara D. Yunker Marsha M. Zenanko

Family & Consumer Sci.

Debra Goodwin Paula Napoli Karen Nemeth

Health, PE & Recreation

Ronnie Harris

William Hey Donna Bailey Hey James McLaughlin Glenn Roswal

Technology & Engineering
Noureddine Bekhouche
Edwin R. Bellman

College of Nursing and Health Sciences

Mylinda J. Brown Jane Cash Angela Beth Hembree Susan Lynn Hillhouse Sarah Vines Latham

University Library

Mary D. Bevis
John-Bauer Graham
Luke Griffin
Jodi Poe
Hanrong Wang
Kimberly Weatherford

Service Awards

10 Years

Ardie Dial Carmine DiBiase Susan DiBiase Russel Lemmons Roger Sauterer

15 Years

Lewis F. Clements, Jr. Donna K. Smith

20 Years

Samuel B. Brown

25 Years

Adrian F. Aveni
Thomas Francis Baucom
Harry O. Holstein
Michael B. Marker
Charles Olander
William L. Palya
Glen M. Roswal
Carol S. Uline

Raymond D. Whetstone

30 Years

Myrtice Collins Howard G. Johnson Ralph Carlton Ward Steven J. Whitton

Promotion and Tenure

Promotion

Safaa Al Hamdani, Professor Lawrence Beard, Associate Prof. Mary Bevis, Professor Rita Boydston, Associate Prof. Shawn Carter, Associate Prof. Richard Cobb, Professor Brent Cunningham, Associate Prof. Randall Davis, Professor Cynthia Harper, Professor Fred Kelley, Professor Jerry Kiser, Professor Tom Leathrum, Associate Prof. Russel Lemmons, Professor Suzanne Marshall, Professor Angela Sandberg, Professor James Thomas. Associate Prof.

Tenure

Lawrence Beard Rita Boydston Fred Kelley Jan Wilson

Retiring

James Allen Samuel Brown A. L. Studdard Eugene Williams Barbara Yunker

Special Recognition

Certificate of Appreciation to 2002-2003 Faculty Senate President

Dr. John H. Jones