Gamecock Rifle Vaults to No. 1 in CRCA Poll

Gamecock Rifle Vaults to No. 1 in CRCA Poll




MURRAY, Ky. – After posting the best scores in the nation during the first weekend of competition, the Jacksonville State rifle team propelled itself to No. 1 in the first in-season poll by the Collegiate Rifle Coaches Association.

The Gamecocks, who entered the season ranked eighth in the preseason listing, vaulted to the No. 1 ranking after turning in aggregate scores of 4673 and 4668 at the Ole Miss Invitational and the Memphis Tiger Open respectively.  Jax State topped No. 4 Texas Christian University to win the invitational in Oxford, Miss. last Friday.

JSU is followed by Kentucky, Alaska, TCU and 2013 NCAA Champion, West Virginia to round out the top-five teams in the poll.  Ohio Valley Conference foes Murray State and UT Martin moved to 11th and 12th respectively, while Columbus State is listed 18th overall.  Morehead State rounds out the top-20.

Individually, Jax State has three shooters ranked among the top-20 in smallbore and air rifle.  Junior Brent Books posted the second best score in the nation in smallbore with a 585 at the Ole Miss Invitational.  Junior Dan McCall is listed twice in smallbore top performances with marks of 581 on both events this past weekend.  Both of his marks rank fourth nationally.  Sophomore Samantha Bullard etched her name in both the top 20 in smallbore and air rifle.  Bullard tallied a 578 in smallbore and two points better (589) in air rifle on Friday.

Junior Cole Tucker's mark of 593 in air rifle ranks second-best in the nation and just six points off the national leader, Maren Prediger of West Virginia.  Tucker also scored a 588 in Memphis, Tenn. on Saturday.  Senior Sam Muegge equaled Tucker's 588 mark at the Ole Miss Invitational.

JSU will host No. 11 UT Martin on Homecoming Saturday at the Gamecock Rifle Range.

CRCA Poll - October 8, 2013

1.            Jacksonville State
2.            Kentucky           
3.            Alaska           
4.            TCU           
5.            West Virginia           
6.            Ohio State           
7.            Memphis           
8.            Army           
9.            Nebraska           
10.          Air Force           
11.          Murray State           
12.          UT Martin          
13.          Navy           
14.          Ole Miss           
15.          Nevada           
16.          North Carolina State           
17.          Akron           
18.          Columbus State           
19.          Texas- El Paso          
20.          Morehead State