Content Top Nav Left Nav Utility Nav Site Search
Mobile Menu

Inservice Education Center

More Links

Governing Board

Alabama's 11 Regional Inservice Centers were created by the legislature to enhance the training of school personnel in critical needs areas. The concept and mandate were adopted in May, 1984 (Act 84-622), establishing centers to provide "rigorous inservice training in critical needs areas for the state's public school personnel" teachers, superintendents, principals, and local board of education members.


As mandated by the Alabama legislature and the State Department of Education, each inservice center (including JSU's) operates under the direction and authority of a governing board.  The governing board is charged with the following responsibilities:

1)  In cooperation with the State Department of Education, determine policies for the operation of the center, including the days and hours of operation.

2)  Approve programs and activities that address needs as identified by needs assessments and/or student achievement data and the plan to access the center's programs and services by its constituent schools and systems.

3)  Approve the center's annual budget.

4) Approve program consultants as requested by local education agencies.

5) Delegate to the center director the authority and responsibility for the daily operation of the center, including the development and maintenance of necessary records (financial and programmatic) and the coordination of programs and activities.

6) Approve the annual report of the center's programs and activities.

The current JSU Inservice Education Center Governing Board members are:

  • Ms. Gwen Baker, Administrator, Anniston City Schools
  • Ms. Lisa Robinson, Teacher, Attalla City Schools
  • Mr. Joe Dyar, Administrator, Calhoun County Schools
  • Mr. Brian Pike, Teacher, Clay County Schools
  • Ms. Laura Brown, Teacher, Cherokee County Schools
  • Ms. Valerie Lindley, Teacher, Cleburne County Schools
  • Mr. Don Graves, Administrator, Etowah County Schools
  • Ms. Jonna Betterton, Teacher, Gadsden City Schools
  • Mr. Burt Lavendar, Jacksonville City Schools
  • Ms. Khristie Goodwin, Administrator, Oxford City Schools
  • Matt Akin, Administrator, Piedmont City Schools
  • Dr. Michael Barber, Administrator, Pell City Schools
  • Ms. Wanda Langley, Teacher, Randolph County Schools
  • Ms. Melissa Adkins, Teacher, St. Clair County Schools
  • Ms. Donna Neighbors, Teacher, Roanoke City Schools
  • Ms. Lisa Williams, Jacksonville State University Representative
  • Dr. Gena Thornburg, Jacksonville State University Representative
  • Ms. Deborah Williams, Alabama State Board of Education Representative
  • Ms. Kim Williams, Pell City Schools, Administrator
Back to Top