Faculty and Staff

The Jacksonville State University English faculty is composed of dedicated and well qualified members. Assistant, Associate, and Full Professors in the department have earned their doctorates (Ph.D.) in a range of English specialties. Instructors hold M.A. or M.F.A. degrees and are dedicated to their teaching emphasis. Many of the staff are seen in various capacities around campus, including Freshman Orientation. Classroom instruction methods include group projects, peer editing, and revision emphasis; some distance learning options are available in special sections. Selected composition courses are taught in the computer lab and incorporate word processing skills. Much of the excellent quality of classroom instruction is reflected in the many scholarly initiatives of the faculty that have a pedagogical emphasis.

In addition to teaching, the English faculty is involved in a great variety of research, including presentations at local, state, and national conferences. The members of the department also play an active role in professional associations and make contributions to community projects. Camp Write, The National Writing Project, The WIT (Writing Instruction Technology) Workshop are sponsored regularly by the department.

department head

Dr. Robert Felgar

Department Chair- Distinguished Professor

bfelgar@jsu.edu

not pictured female

Susan Hurst

Secretary

hurst@jsu.edu
not pictured female

Jessica Mayberry

Clerical Assistant

jmayberry@jsu.edu

Professor

Rodney Bailey

Instructor

rbailey@jsu.edu

no picture male

Don Bennett

Instructor

bennett@jsu.edu

no picture male

Dr. Chris Bollini

Visiting Assistant Professor

cbollini@jsu.edu

not pictured female

Christy Burns

Distinguished Lecturer

cburns@jsu.edu

no picture male

Dr. Randall Davis

Professor

rdavis@jsu.edu

Professor

Susan Dean

Instructor

sadean@jsu.edu
not pictured female

Dr. Carmine Di Biase

Professor

cdibiase@jsu.edu

not pictured female

Dr. Emrys Donaldson

Assistant Professor

edonaldson@jsu.edu

Professor

Dr. Christopher Douglas

Assistant Professor

ccdouglas@jsu.edu

no picture male

Joshua Duckworth

Instructor

jduckworth@jsu.edu

Professor

Katie Elkins

Instructor

kmelkins@jsu.edu

Professor

Dr. Joanne Gates

Professor

jgates@jsu.edu

Professor

Dr. Larry Gray

Professor

lgray@jsu.edu
no picture male

Matthew Hill

Instructor

mrhill@jsu.edu

Professor

Katie Johnson

Instructor

kcjohnson@jsu.edu

no picture male

Dr. John Jones

Professor

jhjones@jsu.edu

professor

Dr. Raina Kostova

Professor

rkostova@jsu.edu

Professor

Joy Maloney

Instructor

jmaloney@jsu.edu

Professor

April Mattox

Instructor

admattox@jsu.edu

Professor

Mica Mecham

Instructor

mmecham@jsu.edu
no picture male

David Myer

Distinguished Lecturer

dmyer@jsu.edu

Professor

Mysti Nicholes

Instructor

mnichols@jsu.edu

Professor

Dr. Scott Obernesser

Visiting Assistant Professor

sobernesser@jsu.edu

not pictured female

Deborah Prickett

Instructor

dpricket@jsu.edu

Professor

Jeff Pruitt

Instructor

pruitt@jsu.edu

Professor

Dr. Teresa Reed

Professor

treed@jsu.edu

female

Tanya Sasser

Instructor

tsasser@jsu.edu
Professor

Katelyn Williams

Instructor

knwilliams@jsu.edu

no picture male

Dr. B.J. Wilson

Visiting Assistant Professor

wwilson3@jsu.edu

Adjunct Faculty


Alice Abernathy

aliceabernathy@jsu.edu

Josh Bobo

jbobo@jsu.edu

Donna Coleman

dcoleman@jsu.edu

Stacie Connell

sconnell1@jsu.edu

Caitlin Elliot

cmelliott@jsu.edu

Katerri Richardson

krebs@jsu.edu

Shea Swikard

pswikard@jsu.edu

Fateme Whyatt

fwhyatt@jsu.edu

Jacklon Wright

jwright22@jsu.edu