Content Top Nav Left Nav Utility Nav Site Search
Mobile Menu

The Chantlicleer

More Pages within News

Jax State headed back to NCAA Rifle Championship


Last Wednesday, the NCAA announced the eight teams that qualified to compete in the 2013 NCAA Rifle Championship.

Jacksonville State was the fifth team announced during the selection show and will thus be making a trip to the Rifle championships for the 12th time in program history. The invitation marks the third consecutive year the Gamecocks will go to the championships.

The championship will be held March 8-9 in Columbus, Ohio on the campus of Ohio State University in the French Field House. The eight team field is packed with powerhouses in the sport.

The field was set by qualifying scores made by select teams from the NCAA Sectionals the weekend prior.

The top team announced with a score of 9432 was West Virginia. The Mountaineers have won an astounding 14 national championships since 1983.

The following team announced were the Wildcats of Kentucky who have stayed at the top of the polls all season long.

Texas Christian University came next with a qualifying score of 9393. The Horned Frogs enter as defending champs, and champions in two of the last three years.

A familiar team returns to the championships with Alaska-Fairbanks, winners of 10 national championships with nine of those coming during a dynasty period from 1999-2008.

Jax State again returns, the 2005 runner-ups are looking to bring home the first national championship in school history.

The team that topped JSU in 2005, Army, also made the eight team field, along with military academy, Air Force.

Nebraska is the final team, not by score, that will also participate next weekend in Columbus.

Coach Ron Frost has his squad primed and ready having just won the school’s seventh conference title a few weeks ago. Juniors Monica Fyfe and Sam Muegge and sophomore Cole Tucker will lead the Gamecocks.

Back to Top